Sugar Free Blueberry Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Loved this recipe! I mixed raspberries in with the blueberries, and left out the cake topping (mainly because I couldn't get my hands on any brown sugar substitute) and everyone who tried it loved it. Don't know what's going on with those who don't like the outcome - maybe it depends on the quality of sugar substitute used? Also, be wary of vanilla extracts. I know it's not much, but I checked out three bottles and two of them had water and sugar as their primary ingredients -- the third, vanilla essence, had no sadded ugar, only vanilla. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This was pretty good. It definitely doesn't taste "sugar free" but it also isn't very sweet tasting, almost a tad bland for a dessert. Might try adding some spices next time, cause lack of super sweetness is usually a good thing to me. I made this pretty much exactly as written. Used some healthy subs, like egg beaters and 1% milk. Also subbed a cup of flour out for a cup of whole wheat flour. And used splenda blend brown sugar (cut in half as the bag says) for the topping. Came out great. Wouldn't change a thing except for some more spices (more cin, vanilla, nutmeg maybe?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I made this for my diabetic father and everyone liked it. I added just slightly more blueberries (not by much, I was just finishing off the bag) and cooked it for 35 minutes. I would not suggest cooking longer because this was about the ideal moisture level. I also might have used slightly less brown sugar substitute, which was still plenty sweet. This was good enough that I would happily eat this even if I weren't making it for someone diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I made this and brought it into the Veterans of Foreign War Hall, everyone loved it and NOONE knew it was sugar free. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was wonderful! My mom was recently diagnosed as a diabetic and I was looking for diabetic friendly recipes for her and stumbled upon this one, which was perfect because she LOVES sweets. The only change made was that instead of using the malitol brown sugar we used 1 cup of splenda and 1/2 cup of dark brown sugar combined (Thanks Kelly!). This looked so beautiful once finished and it tasted even better! Seriously, you can't even tell it's sugar free! I know we'll be using this recipe often. Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
MOST DEFINITELY a 5 star recipe!!! I made one mistake though.... I cooked it in a pan the size of a bread loaf. The kind you cook meat loaf in or banana pudding. I had to cook it for over an hour @ 350. This caused it to be a little tough on the outsides, but I'm sure, when cooked in a bigger pan, it is PURRRRR-fect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Talisheek, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lacombe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made this for my father's birthday and mailed it back east. It was wonderful! Both my parents who have type 2 absolutely loved it! It ships great and stays fresh for a while. My brother, who isn't diabetic, loved it also and so did I! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Used brown sugar Splenda Blend and had to bake a bit longer to get the middle...GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was very good. I added about an 1/8 of a teaspoon of freshly grated nutmeg to the cake batter to give it a more traditional flavor. I also combined equal parts of splenda and dark brown sugar to give it a more complex flavor for the topping. Will definitely make again soon. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I made this for a diabetic friend. I found the cake to be lacking in flavor, but my friend thought they were to die for. I definitely liked them better warmed up. When cold they seemed to crumble a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leyden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States