Sugar Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I have never had sugar cream pie but I have relatives from Marion, Oh that speak of it often. I decided to try this recipe and while I have no idea if this is how sugar cream pie is supposed to look and taste, I do know that it was delicious. Light, creamy, and custard like it has a wonderfully comfort flavor to it. Really enjoyable. I cookedi it to a pudding consistency and it only needed about a minute under broiler. Chilled for a few hours and set to a custard consistency. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
I've never made a sugar cream pie before but this was superb. It is a little bit of heaven in a pie crust. Everyone loved it from the 4 year old to my husband. I would recommend this to everyone. Just make sure you stir the mixture so it doesn't stick to your pan. Can't wait to try it with bananas in it. Debra in IN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2000
The best sugar cream pie i have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2000
easy to make and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
I made this for a friend...he said it was as good as his Grandma's. I was so happy to finally find a Sugar Cream Pie recipe that was as good as he remembered! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
Thank you C. Banes for making my Thanksgiving dinner a huge success!! Sugar Cream Pie is my husband's favorite dessert and we have not been able to purchase it in the South!! Your recipe was very detailed, easy to follow and much better than a store-bought pie!! Thank you again! 11/01
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Years ago I had this and fell in love with it but the lady who made it would not share the recipe with me. Thank you so much you brought back happy memories that I can relive often. It is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
Absolutely the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
I have been searching for years for a recipe for a sugar cream pie similar to one that my family holds near and dear to our hearts from a little burger shop in Ohio. My search is over. I have made this pie 6 times now in 5 days!! It was such a huge hit with my kids that I tried it at our 4th of July party, and the neighbors went wild. It is just so refreshing, and brings back so many memories of what good comfort food is all about. This will be in my family recipes for every generation. I made it exacatly as the recipe called for, except the 2nd time I made it I didn't have the 1/2 & 1/2 so I used heavy cream instead. Everyone thought that version was the best, so I haven't changed it since. Drop a spoonful of whipped topping on this just to make this perfect pie even more sinful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kingsland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
I made this at Thanksgiving as a surprise for my brother who had asked that I make one for him sometime. He and his co-workers declared it the best sugar cream pie they had ever had in their entire lives and have already put in their "orders" for Christmas! I haven't actually tasted it yet but hope to the next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States