Sugar Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Amazing! I too am familiar with Wick's sugar cream pie and I can honestly say I like this better! Growing up eating Wick's mean that is a BOLD statement! I followed another review posted and made my own crust which was perfect. I felt this recipe was extremely easy to prepare, even the crust was no issue at all. Just as other have said, don't get in a hurry and be sure to cook it long enough and it will set up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Ease of prep but you do have to watch closely in both stages---the thickening and the broiling. Tasted some of the filling and it tasted really good. Will update as it is cooling in fridge now. (:Update: I have to give a very, very, VERY good!!!! Really enjoyed, so good once it set up and was chilled in the frig. I think the hardest part was waiting for it to be chilled enough to eat. But one of those recipes that is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
The flavors were very good but this didn't set up like I expected. It was more of a pudding consistency and I was expecting something firmer. Maybe I didn't cook it long enough before pouring into the pie pan although it was thick and creamy when I poured and I refrigerated it overnight...I will try again though because it seems like it'd be a very enjoyable dessert if I could get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I didn't care much for this pie. I have never had a sugar cream pie before so it's maybe just a type of pie I don't like. I followed the recipe exactly - the only thing I would do differently is to flour or grease the pie pan before I put the crust down as the crust stuck to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
OMG... I have not had sugar cream pie since the last time I was back in Ohio visiting family. Even though I am proud of my cooking ability... I have been apprehensive in making this pie. It just seems like it should be hard. Let me tell you... this recipe is SO simple, yet delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Fabulous! Rarely have I gotten such rave reviews over anything I have taken to a dinner. I did use half whipping cream/half of half & half as I was low on the latter. I can not praise this enough. The texture is to die for. My best friend said it was like eating homemade ice cream baken in a pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustoffmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntingdon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This was awesome! the texture was so smooth, I followed the recipe except cut the sugar to 2/3 cup. I also did not have 1/2 &1/2 so used equal parts of heavy cream and milk, it was wonderful!!!! will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This gets better every time. I'm also from Indiana and although it's not the same as Wick's... We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Didn't really like this :( I honestly dont know what a sugar cream pie SHOULD taste like, but this had an odd texture and not-too-good taste to it. Followed recipe exactly. Wonder if I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I thought this was very good. However, my husband, who grew up just south of Winchester, IN, where Wick's Pies is located, is a bit of a sugar cream pie snob. To him it was not as good as the original. To me it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States