Sugar Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by andie
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Wonderful , creamy perfection...the only thing I did different was add nutmeg and cinnamon on top..love the butter drizzle under broiler . Took it to the next level and I'm a Hoosier !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
My mom always used to make sugar cream pie. It's been years since she's made it (she can no longer cook) so I'd forgotten about it, but I came across her recipe. It's very similar to this, but she used full whipping cream instead of half-and-half, and 1/4 cup cornstarch. You should get much better results if you make those changes. Flour changes the taste and texture in a manner I don't like, and I would NEVER omit the vanilla extract! Regardless of whether it "evaporates" (the only part that does is the alcohol), it gives it that nice vanilla taste that makes it a sugar cream pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
a little too sweet for me. not sure I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Sugar cream pie is my favorite...this recipe is delicious.!! I was wanting to know if anyone has ever tried a topping on this you have I'd love to know what you used....THANKS...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Barnett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
My husband tends to not tell me things until the last minute. I was working on homework when I got the text from one of his co workers saying they were having a bake sale the next morning and asked what he was taking. What? Umm, I had not been to the store in a week, it is nine o'clock at night, and my ingredients are almost nothing. So then I remembered a recipe I used to make when I was younger. Yup, born and raised in Indiana. Sugar Cream pie it has hardly anything in it and cooks up fast. Done and done. I couldn't think of the exact measurements so I found this recipe and based mine off it. The only things I did different was I used real vanilla bean, three cracked cardamon seeds, and I topped it with Sugar a couple raspberries and torched it. Oh and doubled it. The pies turned out awesome, set up in no time, and placed in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Foran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steven Bradner
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Great recipe. Thick and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Bradner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I made this pie last night for my sons birthday. Per his request. I never tried Sugar Cream Pie because it never looked that appealing. Now that I have made it and eaten it, I love it! It's my new favorite pie. I can't wait to make it for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I added 1 c toasted sweetened coconut to this as suggested and it was gone within minutes. So delish. Tastes a lot like rice pudding (sans rice). I have made it half a dozen times because it is so easy! Love it with or without coconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I had never heard of a sugar cream pie, but I love custards and decided to make it yesterday. I decided to do a coconut version and added 1/2 C shredded coconut to the custard along with the vanilla. Then, after topping the pie with the butter, and cinnamon, I added 1/2 C coconut on top and broiled it for a minute or two to bubble the butter and toast the coconut. Do not broil too close to the flame, as the coconut burns quickly! The pie came out incredibly light and absolutely delicious! Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This pie is fantastic! I just made it last night, and between my husband and me, it's already gone! It has a very light, creamy texture - for some reason reminded me of creme brulee - and the flavors of vanilla and cinnamon were just wonderful. This is so different from other pies I've made. I just love the delicate texture of this one. I did not feel it was too sweet by any means, just extremely tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States