Sugar Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This ended up tasting good - like sweet tapioca - but the pie was quite thin, like 1.5 inches high. Perhaps I did something wrong; the recipe doesn't indicate a time to boil, only to do so until thickened, but it thickens quite quickly so I figured it would rise if I kept it boiling for a while. I did so, stirring, for several minutes with no change. So don't bother - it's ready to go in the crust after only 5 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This was super good. The thicking step took about 12 minutes. I liked that it was custard-esque without having eggs in it (my son's allergic to eggs). Great recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
probably not something i would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by la belle vie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I thought this pie was overall excellent and as close as I have gotten to the pie I grew up with in Indiana. (What is up with that? Do they only fix this in Indiana?) Anyway, I tried it with heavy whipping cream per another reviewer's advice and this was TOO RICH in my opinion, however it was still yum and gone in seconds. Also, I did the last step with the butter/broiler, but this is unecessary in my opinion. Growing up, my mother did not do this and simply poured the filling and sprinkled the top with nutmeg/cinnamon and it was delish. I will do this next time. Also will be trying for the holidays with half and half and see how they compare. It still is an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Connersville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I really liked the taste of this pie...The straightforward vanilla flavor was refreshing. That being said, I only gave it four stars because it did not explain that the topping should be lightly browned. (I only found this out later, when reading more reviews). So as soon as the butter bubbled, I took it out. It only gave me a strange skin over the top, which was not great to serve. Next time I will wait a little longer than it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I made this for a family gathering, and everyone loved it. I think next time I will add an extra 1/8-1/4 c sugar though, not quite sweet enough for my taste, but it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This pie is very good! Browning the buttered top under the broiler gives it a wonderful nutty flavor. I also made this with toasted coconut - I won't be adding anything to this again. It really is at its best just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalexandropoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
The taste of the ingredients was very good, except mine turned out like pudding, never seemed to harden up? Can someone tell me what I did wrong? I love this recipe! I followed the directions? Want to make it again, just want to make it right next time? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
this was good but something is missing, next time I'll add coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
It was my boyfriend's bday yesterday and he doesn't like cake, so he asked me to make him a sugar cream pie. I've never made ANY pie before, so this was my first time. It turned out fantastic! It wasn't all the way set-up before we cut it...I suggest refrigerating ATLEAST 8 hours before cutting. I also didn't have a broiler so I omitted that part. It was delicious and he said it was the best he's ever had! I served it with a side of Heath Bar Ice Cream, the caramel and toffee bits added to it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medic's Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States