Sugar Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
OMG if you want to be dreaming about pie in your sleep, this on will make it happen. This is one of the best cream pies I have ever made or tasted!!!! This is perfect as is, no alterations are needed. NONE! I have found myself a new favorite pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMACUPCAKE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This pie has become an immediate favorite among my friends. They don't ask for the recipe, but they keep asking me to make it again! The contributor says it's a "lighter" cream pie, but it tastes incredibly rich and sinful. It's also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
YUMMY! I followed the directions exactly....except for the following....I made it with an Oreo Crust, topped with sliced bananas, whipped cream and drizzled hot fudge over the top. To DIE FOR! It only lasted about 1 hour in my house. Will make again....maybe next time I'll do strawberries. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Funny story. So, while I'm reading the reviews, preparing to make this for our New Years Day dinner, I saw that someone mentioned wanting to try adding bananas next time....and yet another person mentioned drizzling with chocolate syrup and it would taste like an eclair! So I thought to myself, "Hey! Why not add BOTH banana AND chocolate syrup and end up with a sundae pie!" Right? So I send my poor hubby to the store for a banana, since now I don't have all the ingredients! He was hijacked or something at the local market and ended up taking an HOUR to get back with the banana! In the meantime, I had started cooking this mixture and it (very suddenly!) became the right consistency! Shoot! Still no banana! Poured it into the GRAHAM crust and remembered that I hadn't added the vanilla! ("Where's that BANANA?", I'm thinking!) So while I was waiting (argh!) I put the vanilla into a little kitchen spray bottle that I have and gently misted the top of the pie! (by this time you're probably thinking I have never cooked a thing in my life, right?) LOL When he (finally) got home, I sliced the banana (resisted rapping him up-side the head with it!) and arranged slices on top of the vanilla misted pie! Dab of whipped cream, drizzle of syrup and a cherry on top. Even after ALL of this, the pie was AWESOME! So I gave 5 stars because I KNOW that if it wasn't for this recipe, it COULD NOT have been possible! Note to self: Make hubby take kids along next time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Perry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
OMGosh!! Fabulous!! I am also from IN and have been looking for a great Sugar Cream Pie recipe like Mrs. Wick's and my Grandmother's. This is it!! I followed the filling recipe exactly. Like one person said before, you have to keep stirring over med/high heat and wait for the "magic" where the butter floating on the top disappears and all of a sudden you have pudding and the mixture thickens. Stir a couple of minutes longer, reducing your heat just a bit. Stir in your vanilla and voila! I added 1 1/2 drops of yellow food coloring after the vanilla for color. Also I made my own pre-baked crust with 1 1/4 c flour, 1/4 t. salt, 1/2 c. butter, 1 t. sugar, & 4 t. water. It was so flaky and the filling was so good! The only thing I thought of was that this recipe screams for Chocolate Frosting III drizzled over the top after it is fairly cool! Then it would taste just like an eclair!! Yummy!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Love it, this was easy and so yummy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calebsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Excellent filling and very nice and light. I will use a deep dish crust next time because I think the crust to filling ratio was a little off with the regular crust. Very good as just custard and may make a good creme brulee type flavor with broiled cinnamon sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and was very impressed with the result. The texture was creamy and smooth, but light. It looked so pretty coming out the pie pan, the filling held up beautifully and could be cut cleanly with just a kitchen knife. I might add more sugar next time as I like a sweet custard, but my husband loved it as is. Thanks for an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This pie definitely lived up to the 5 star rating. Great flavor and texture. I cooked my filling on medium high heat and it thickened up perfectly. I made 3 last night and they all came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dober mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
My husband does not like sugar cream pie but he loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States