Sugar Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Very good recipe. I put a little nutmeg in the cream mixture, & I used nutmeg in place of the cinnamon on top of the pie. Next time I make this I will skip the butter on top, & skip putting the pie under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Do not put the sugar and constarch in the pot that is hot first.. LOL. It tastes good right now, but its cooling. I did not do the topping part under the broiler. thanks you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I'm not allowed to show up for Thanksgiving anymore without this pie since I started making it from this recipe in 2009. No matter what the other dessert selections, from my own oven or otherwise, this is the one that goes and goes fast. I know to make two, because one is just a tease. I had never heard of Sugar Cream Pie, until a friend from Indiana mentioned it as being as much a staple at dessert as coffee and tea. The first time I made it (and I could NOT believe the simplicity) I had also spent hours and hours on a hundred ingredients and a thousand steps, making the infamous Momofuku Milk Bar Crack Pie. As delicious as that concoction was, there were leftovers because people went back for seconds and thirds of the Sugar Cream. On behalf of my foodie Italian family (and we're New Yorkers -- we'll tell you when you displease us) THANK YOU.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cas in NYC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I love this pie, it has officially become a staple for my family at Thanksgiving and Christmas. It has such a great texture and taste. Want people to think you are a pie genius? then I highly recommend you bring this pie to any gathering I followed the instructions to a T, no substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I'm from Indiana and my grandmother was famous for her sugar cream pie. Here are some tips to make it turn out. Substitute flour for the cornstarch-it will thicken up no matter how long you stir it-and let it boil and thicken up on the burner (while you stir it) until it thickens and is creamy. Grandma never used the cinnamon or the vanilla (it evaporates anyways) and she used 2 1/2 cups of cream or evaporated milk. Bake at 325 for about 30 minutes on a cookie sheet and be careful to watch it the last five minutes so it doesn't start boiling over and ruining the pie. Once it starts to boil, take it out, it's done. Cool completely before cutting and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karensue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Love this old fashion taste that I remember a a kid going to Lytle's in Leesburg, Ohio. I'm not sure if this is similar to their recipe but it tastes that way to me. I did a couple of changes. First, I prebake the crust at 450 for 5 minutes. I turn down the temp the minute I add the crust to over so it will decrease to 325. I make the pie mixture according to recipe. I then pour the mixture into the prebaked pie shell. I sprinkle with nutmeg and pour 2 T. of melted butter on top. Then I bake at 325 for 40 minutes. We cut into it after it cools for 30 minutes. Last for a few days. My family loves it! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALSART

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Didn't look anything like the photo. I followed exact directions and it was very runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was one of the best pies i have ever tried. It's almost like eating a denser version of vanilla pudding in a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caitjane1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coronado, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Amazing! I too am familiar with Wick's sugar cream pie and I can honestly say I like this better! Growing up eating Wick's mean that is a BOLD statement! I followed another review posted and made my own crust which was perfect. I felt this recipe was extremely easy to prepare, even the crust was no issue at all. Just as other have said, don't get in a hurry and be sure to cook it long enough and it will set up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Ease of prep but you do have to watch closely in both stages---the thickening and the broiling. Tasted some of the filling and it tasted really good. Will update as it is cooling in fridge now. (:Update: I have to give a very, very, VERY good!!!! Really enjoyed, so good once it set up and was chilled in the frig. I think the hardest part was waiting for it to be chilled enough to eat. But one of those recipes that is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States