Sugar Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Again another Hoosier here. I loved my grandmother's sugar cream pie and never could find a recipe close to hers till now. Thanks even my New Yorker husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Yummy! This is the best pie ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Englewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
We loved it! They were not kidding when they said that the mixture needed to be cooked at a high temperature. At first, I cooked it at a mid temperature and it never got to that consistency needed. When I turned the temperature up, it thickened quickly. Thanks for the advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
IN-Credible! My sister in law said it tastes like a vanilla milkshake pie. I made a triple batch in one pan, and plan on taking them to Thanksgiving get togethers. They hold up really well (no merangue to weep), and the cinnamon adds a nice holiday note. This would be fabulous made with part eggnog, or served with mocha (syrup) flavored whipped cream. In the summertime, it would beg for fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Also being from Indiana, my husband was craving a Wick's Sugar Cream Pie. I was excited to find this recipe, but it turned out to be not exactly what I was looking for. The texture is a little more "custard" like than the Wick's. We did like the flavor, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I am a Hoosier who grew up with greatest Sugar Cream pies thanks to Mrs. Wick's in Winchester, IN, as well. This is a wonderful recipe. I lessened the sugar to 2/3 a cup and it tastes great! Some words to the wise: Cook sugar/half&half mixture on medium to medium high, but don't let it burn and don't stop stirring! For those of you who couldn't get it to turn, keep stirring and be patient, as it takes a little time to happen, but when it does, it's magic! And when they say "Watch Carefully when it's under Broiler", they mean it! It could take as little as twenty or thirty seconds to bubble. (I left mine in for one minute and it burned the butter covering so I had to fix it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
My husband made this for me and we both loved it, though I though it was a bit too sweet. Next time, we'll add only 2/3 cup sugar. We didnt have half-and-half cream, so we used half heavy cream and half milk (which is what half-and-half is anyway). I'd eat the filling as a pudding by itself if I could! As for the 1-star rating below, if you cook a mixture with corn starch too long or over too high heat, the thickening agents will no longer work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I made this to take to work. all other recipes i tried Ive baked the filling in the pie crust. it was gone in a flash someone told me he had'nt had a sugar cream pie like that since his grandma past away 10 years ago. tastes almost like a cream brule. used good vanilla paste in recipe cooked till pudding consistancy on med heat. This is my only sugar cream pie recipe now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
This is one of my favorite recipes ever! The flavour is so sweet and delicious. Very Very creamy with a vanilla/buttery flavour. I recomend it to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Delicious and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States