Sugar Cookies with Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Courtney
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
OK, so this is like 2 recipes in one-one for the cookies and one for the frosting-If I were reviewing the cookies alone, I would give them a 4...they are light, airy, and yummy...easy to work with too, they were perfectly done after 5 min. in my oven...The frosting, though. Personally, I feel that 'buttercream' should have at least one of those two ingredients in it...it tasted like pure shortening,(and I followed the recipe to a tee) also, because it was so greasy from the shortening, I literally had to run my dishwasher 2 times to get all of the residue off of the dishes (I put the mixing bowl in the dishwasher, and everything came out greasy) On top of this, the frosting did not hold color very well- it kept seperating out...maybe it would have been better if I had used the gel color, but I probably won't make these again to see...to the reviewer who stated that they would be using this frosting for all of their cakes from now on, may I make a suggestion? If you like this, try "Rick's special buttercream" from this site...WAY BETTER, just as easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I made the dough the night before so I could bake in morning. This I would not reccomend. This way the dough was like a rock and a little too hard to work with but I did not give up and warmed the dough up a bit and they turned out beautiful. I made 2 batches of the dough and you can double only the powdered sugar and flavorings on the frosting part to make more frosting, obviously adding more water/milk until you and your beaters feel that it is the perfect consistency for your cookies. You do not need to double the shortening. Delicious cookies, perfect cutouts. Don't let the dough scare ya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I wish I could give this more than 5!! I tried two other very highly rated sugar cookie recipes, and this was the only one that actually baked correctly. The cookies kept their shape - very nice! the other recipes just kind of puffed out so my stars looked almost like flowers...I made the icing recipe from Delilah's sugar cook. recipe b/c I prefer that type (dries hard) anyway, these are super great!! making more today! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
My kids and I made this recipe the other night. It was tough to wait two hours for the dough to chill, but well worth the wait. These sugar cookies are not too sweet, which is great if you are pairing them with royal icing. This recipe is a winner. We will use it time and time again. One note: I rolled the cookies out to about 1/4 inch thickness. I prefer a thicker cookie, this way the edges don't burn when you cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
~This is by far one of the best sugar cookie recipes I've ever had any luck with. I normally don't have much luck w/rolled sugar cookies (as the dough is always the wrong consistency..) i followed the recipe to the letter & they turned out PERFECT!! Afer chilling the dough, it was rather hard (don't let that scare you though, after working w/it for a few minutes it was fine!) I am making these again today & will let the dough sit for 5 mins or so after chilling so that it's easier to work with. I did the xmas cut-outs..they turned out great..I did read the review on these & the frosting prior to making them & I personally loved the frosting that goes w/these! It was a little thick & very sweet (plus there was lots left over..) But i always like my sugar cookie frosting to be that way..To the other reviewer that said that these turned out like 'dry biscuits'...must've done something wrong or not frosted them..I'm not an 'expert' baker, just an 'average' one & these were by far 'bakery' style cookies. I will use these for lots of differrent occasions now!! So glad I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This was an awesome cookie and frosting recipe. I had to cook the cookies a little longer than 4-6 minutes though. I like my bottoms to be light brown. Made these the week before Christmas and they stayed soft and yummy for quite a while. Frosting was the best I have ever tasted and will use on my cakes. I used clear vanilla flavoring instead of the regular vanilla extract to keep it bright white. Loved this recipe. Will use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
I these with pink frosting for Valentine gifts. They are fabulous!! Freeze well, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Didn't try the frosting, but the cookie is great! It tastes great by itself, and the dough is easy to work with. Bakes beautifully. This is definately my new cut-out cookie recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sanbon, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This one's probably a five with a little more vanilla. Reminds me of a notasrich shortbread cookie. Stable enough to handle while frosting & buttery enough to not be the typical ughsugarcookie cookie. I halved the recipe using 2/3c as half the 1 3/4c flour. Rolled it in waxed paper, refrigerated overnight & sliced a bit less than 1/4 inch. Nine minutes. No need to wait to remove from the sheet. I had leftover white cake frosting "one" (with adjustments in my review) & they were a good combination. 'Had to make these again today - the next day btw :D - because they were eaten mostly unfrosted. 'Don't want to waste frosting now, do I?!? Nooooo. :D Uh-oh, not enough white flour. 'Made full recipe using 2 1/2c white flour & a cup of wheat & guess what! Good, too! Yup, good recipe. They kept their shape even better using that wheat flour, too. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
These cookies are great. Not too crispy, not too soft. They rolled out great- the batter wasn't too stick or too stiff. Perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmaleth

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States