Sugar Cookies with Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Sunshine
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
These were pretty good. I rolled them out 1/4 and found the time to cook them needed to be adjusted. We like ours crunchy so I rolled the second batch out thinner and cooked for about 9 min. Didnt make the frosting either. I thought the dough was really easy to work with after chilling over night. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This is THE BEST cut out recipe there is on the net. I made these from my annual cookie exchange and all 11 women raved about them. To save time frosting (20 dozen take a while), I purchased buttercream icing from Sam's Club. They were a huge hit and are our family's new favorite. I will make them again at Valentine's Day. I did refrigerate the dough overnight before rolling and cutting them out. I cannot say enough about how great a recipe this is! Use real butter (salted), and refrigerate....these are THE BEST!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Hollis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Great cookies! The dough is easy to work with but does require some flour so it doesn't stick to things. I did not use the frosting listed though. I made a simple frosting with 3 cups powdered sugar, 1/3 cup butter, 3 TBSP of milk, and 1-1/2 tsp vanilla. Nothing too fancy but it was very simple. The cookies are delicate though, especially when you bake them for the shorter amount of time. A couple of mine broke with my frosting. But I was very happy with the result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Best cookies ever!!!! 5 minutes was perfect. Didn't like the frosting it was to runny .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
These cookies are so soft and the frosting was great. I will use these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This cookie recipe is out of this world. I have been searching for years and try a new one every year for Christmas cutouts. The dough is really tasty and tender. Easy to work with. I highly recommend. I would say that I got maybe 40 cookies out of a batch of dough. Also, the 4-5 minutes baking time was right on. You don't want them browning, as that makes them crunchy and not chewy. Great cookie recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Didn't try the frosting, but the cookie is great! It tastes great by itself, and the dough is easy to work with. Bakes beautifully. This is definately my new cut-out cookie recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sanbon, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I made these without the frosting and they were super easy and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
OK, so this is like 2 recipes in one-one for the cookies and one for the frosting-If I were reviewing the cookies alone, I would give them a 4...they are light, airy, and yummy...easy to work with too, they were perfectly done after 5 min. in my oven...The frosting, though. Personally, I feel that 'buttercream' should have at least one of those two ingredients in it...it tasted like pure shortening,(and I followed the recipe to a tee) also, because it was so greasy from the shortening, I literally had to run my dishwasher 2 times to get all of the residue off of the dishes (I put the mixing bowl in the dishwasher, and everything came out greasy) On top of this, the frosting did not hold color very well- it kept seperating out...maybe it would have been better if I had used the gel color, but I probably won't make these again to see...to the reviewer who stated that they would be using this frosting for all of their cakes from now on, may I make a suggestion? If you like this, try "Rick's special buttercream" from this site...WAY BETTER, just as easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I could eat these all day! yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States