Sugar Cookies with Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Stephanie
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
These cookies turned out great. I didn't make the frosting this time because I was making the cookies to use up some store bought frosting that I had already. Next time I'll definitely make the buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Cookie was not very sweet. Then came the frosting which did improve the cookie. Only gave 3 stars as the cookie was more of a biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindale, Texas, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I wasn't impressed with this recipe. The cookies tasted like dry, flavorless biscuits. The frosting is delicious, however, and I will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This was the first time I made sugar cookies and they turned out fabulous! (I took another's suggestion and used the decorator frosting recipe and that went perfect with these cookis. I'm not a big fan of shortening.) I was surprised how quickly the dough became warm and thus a little harder to work with. I made these with my five-year old and I brought out the chilled dough in small batches to work with. I also found the metal cookies cutters to work best...I was able to get a couple quick cuts with my plastic cutters (the "closed" kind, with details) if I used them right when the dough came out and if I didn't press all the way. When the dough began to warm, my cookie cutter got stuck in the dough! I also ended up making mine a little thicker in some batches, but just kept a close eye and pulled them out at the first hint of brown. Some cookies I thought I even cooked too long, but they still came out soft and wonderful! This recipe gave me at least 4 dozen cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Excuse me, I need to stand back up from my faint. I made both the cookie and the frosting. Since I never use shortening, I went ahead and used butter. Heavenly. I wish I could give this recipe 10 stars. It is that good. I also did add an extra teaspoon of vanilla as we love vanilla! This recipe is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is the only sugar cookie I make! I do not make the icing because my kids like to decorate with sprinkles! These are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nethridge
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
These are absolutely AMAZING. I have made this exact recipe every year for Christmas cookies. The cookies are not cakey, but maybe more like a biscuit. The frosting is to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I couldn't really decide if I liked these cookies or not. Sigh. They are definately NOT sweet so if you're looking for something sweet these are not it. They don't taste very good w/o frosting. I didn't make the frosting to this recipe and just used canned frosting. They actually tast better after a day or so. My husband loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars for taste! I couldn't roll it out but that was probably because I was very silly and used margarine instead of butter. I only realised what I was doing when it was too late! I chose not to make the frosting so we can eat more cookies without feeling too guilty... ;) And they are DELICIOUS! I can't stop eating them and I've only just got them out of the oven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatsyPoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
These cookies are Tasty! Not too sweet, so I made my own chocolate frosting on them and they were delicious. A little difficult to cut out, so towards the end I just used a spoon to drop them out, and they turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States