Sugar Cookies with Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I made heart cut-out cookies for Valentine's Day, and I am more pleased with this cookie recipe than with any other sugar cookie recipes I've tried. However, I won't be using this frosting recipe, instead just an original vanilla buttercream frosting made with butter instead of this shortening recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Great recipe! It is easy to roll and cut. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I am only rating the Frosting part of the recipe. I made Michelle's soft sugar cookies from this site. I used real butter instead of shortening. Made Christmas cookie cutouts, and divided the frosting into four bowls, and added a different food colorant to each bowl. It is a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Cooking times vary, especially with gas ovens. If cooking with gas, bake time is 11-15 min. Otherwise, excellent cookie recipe! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Mason

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panora, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Only used the frosting from this recipe, but it was great on the cookies. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
These were delicious and easy to work with, I love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
~This is by far one of the best sugar cookie recipes I've ever had any luck with. I normally don't have much luck w/rolled sugar cookies (as the dough is always the wrong consistency..) i followed the recipe to the letter & they turned out PERFECT!! Afer chilling the dough, it was rather hard (don't let that scare you though, after working w/it for a few minutes it was fine!) I am making these again today & will let the dough sit for 5 mins or so after chilling so that it's easier to work with. I did the xmas cut-outs..they turned out great..I did read the review on these & the frosting prior to making them & I personally loved the frosting that goes w/these! It was a little thick & very sweet (plus there was lots left over..) But i always like my sugar cookie frosting to be that way..To the other reviewer that said that these turned out like 'dry biscuits'...must've done something wrong or not frosted them..I'm not an 'expert' baker, just an 'average' one & these were by far 'bakery' style cookies. I will use these for lots of differrent occasions now!! So glad I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
One of the most tastiest homemade frostings I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chrissy b
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
this was the first recipe I tried from this website the cookies came out good even tho we confused baking soda with baking powder lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissy b

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Awesome soft sugar cookies. Just the recipe I was looking for. I did not use this frosting after reading the reviews. I used Better Homes & Gardens Butter Frsoting- awesome! There were no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States