Sugar Cookies with Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
These were delicious and easy to work with, I love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
~This is by far one of the best sugar cookie recipes I've ever had any luck with. I normally don't have much luck w/rolled sugar cookies (as the dough is always the wrong consistency..) i followed the recipe to the letter & they turned out PERFECT!! Afer chilling the dough, it was rather hard (don't let that scare you though, after working w/it for a few minutes it was fine!) I am making these again today & will let the dough sit for 5 mins or so after chilling so that it's easier to work with. I did the xmas cut-outs..they turned out great..I did read the review on these & the frosting prior to making them & I personally loved the frosting that goes w/these! It was a little thick & very sweet (plus there was lots left over..) But i always like my sugar cookie frosting to be that way..To the other reviewer that said that these turned out like 'dry biscuits'...must've done something wrong or not frosted them..I'm not an 'expert' baker, just an 'average' one & these were by far 'bakery' style cookies. I will use these for lots of differrent occasions now!! So glad I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
One of the most tastiest homemade frostings I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chrissy b
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
this was the first recipe I tried from this website the cookies came out good even tho we confused baking soda with baking powder lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissy b

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Awesome soft sugar cookies. Just the recipe I was looking for. I did not use this frosting after reading the reviews. I used Better Homes & Gardens Butter Frsoting- awesome! There were no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
These cookies turned out great. I didn't make the frosting this time because I was making the cookies to use up some store bought frosting that I had already. Next time I'll definitely make the buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Cookie was not very sweet. Then came the frosting which did improve the cookie. Only gave 3 stars as the cookie was more of a biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindale, Texas, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I wasn't impressed with this recipe. The cookies tasted like dry, flavorless biscuits. The frosting is delicious, however, and I will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This was the first time I made sugar cookies and they turned out fabulous! (I took another's suggestion and used the decorator frosting recipe and that went perfect with these cookis. I'm not a big fan of shortening.) I was surprised how quickly the dough became warm and thus a little harder to work with. I made these with my five-year old and I brought out the chilled dough in small batches to work with. I also found the metal cookies cutters to work best...I was able to get a couple quick cuts with my plastic cutters (the "closed" kind, with details) if I used them right when the dough came out and if I didn't press all the way. When the dough began to warm, my cookie cutter got stuck in the dough! I also ended up making mine a little thicker in some batches, but just kept a close eye and pulled them out at the first hint of brown. Some cookies I thought I even cooked too long, but they still came out soft and wonderful! This recipe gave me at least 4 dozen cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Excuse me, I need to stand back up from my faint. I made both the cookie and the frosting. Since I never use shortening, I went ahead and used butter. Heavenly. I wish I could give this recipe 10 stars. It is that good. I also did add an extra teaspoon of vanilla as we love vanilla! This recipe is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States