Sugar Cookies with Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I did not use the cookie recipe (I used the cream cheese sugar cookie recipe from this site). For the frosting I highly suggest deleting the butter flavored extract and use butter flavored crisco sticks instead of regular shortening. Butter flavor without the butter extract!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Supercathee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Mine were dry. Good flavor unfrosted, nice to roll out. Would not make again. Looking for the perfect, light, flaky, soft melt in your mouth rolled out cookie. I don't know what the secret ingredient is-this needs something more to be a perfect cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Cookies were amazing, not a huge fan of the frosting though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Add a about 1-2 tsp cream of tartar (spice section) -really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misdmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Loved 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I made heart cut-out cookies for Valentine's Day, and I am more pleased with this cookie recipe than with any other sugar cookie recipes I've tried. However, I won't be using this frosting recipe, instead just an original vanilla buttercream frosting made with butter instead of this shortening recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Great recipe! It is easy to roll and cut. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I am only rating the Frosting part of the recipe. I made Michelle's soft sugar cookies from this site. I used real butter instead of shortening. Made Christmas cookie cutouts, and divided the frosting into four bowls, and added a different food colorant to each bowl. It is a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Cooking times vary, especially with gas ovens. If cooking with gas, bake time is 11-15 min. Otherwise, excellent cookie recipe! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Mason

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panora, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Only used the frosting from this recipe, but it was great on the cookies. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States