Sugar Cookies with Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is a very tasty recipe, but I would probably rename it to a shortbread cut-out cookie. It bakes up to the consistency and taste more like shortbread. I like it alot, but it just wasn't what I expected. So I was pleasantly surprised. I added a T of cinnamon to it to add something unique, and like other reviewers recommendations, a T of vanilla. I would also try them with almond. They are a little too crumbly when they are thin, so don't be afraid to cut them thick. They still bake nicely within 10 minutes. I added a 1/2 C of sugar and it could easily take another half without being too sweet. Next time I'll try 2 C of sugar and either 1 1/2 C of butter or maybe the equivalent of a stick of the butter crisco, just to make them a little more moist. I decorated them with my kids, so didn't use the frosting recipe. I would give the recipe a 4 as is, because it really does need a bit of tweaking. But make a few additions and they're yummy. Well worth the effort. Also note, the dough does soften quickly, so be sure to be ready to cut after sitting out for just a couple minutes. I rolled it out beforehand into manageable squares stacked between wax paper and they were ready to be cut by little hands right away! Then you can quickly press out cut dough again while baking or decorating, refrigerate for 10 minutes, and you're back in business for the next round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I love this recipe. This is the best sugar cookie recipe that I have used. Some of the reviews say the dough come out hard. Mine did not and I did not need to let it get to room tempter. I used butter flavored Crisco which made the dough easy to work with and the cookies came out nice and soft not hard like some of the recipes that I have used. I baked mine for 7 minutes and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I have found my go to recipe for cutouts! Both the cookies and the frosting were delicious, it is hard to eat just one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I only made the cookies, partially because I don't have shortening and partially because I didn't want to risk the frosting with all the negative reviews I saw for it. Instead I used "Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies." I honestly wasn't planning on using any frosting but when I took a bite from the first batch of these it tasted like a sweet biscuit. Other people in my family said it tasted fine but it wasn't what I was looking for so I whipped up the frosting and they were great and much better the next day too. I'm definitely making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Awesome cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great cookies. Also good with lemoncream frosting. thanks for the find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I haven't found a reason to really leave feedback on recipes, but I was really displeased with this one. The dough was TOO HARD to work with after chilling for 1 hour. When it warmed up, it broke apart. These are TOO greasy for my preference. The counter was covered in the grease from this batter. My husband, who LOVES sugar cookies (or at least all the ones I've made, as I see him stuffing himself with them...) was not thrilled with this recipe. No good flavor. Never again with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I halved the recipe and they turned out wonderful! We used our kid-sized cookie cutters that are 1.5" and we ended up with 7 dozen cookies! I ALWAYS have bad luck with rolling them and having them stick - but these didn't. I did NOT refridgerate the dough and sprinkled confectioners sugar before rolling out the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Unfortunately I failed with this recipe and it was my first attempt ever at making sugar cookies. Now I am discouraged :( They stuck to my cookie sheets even after I tried greasing them. Not sure how to correct this. Perhaps I made them too thin? I held one up to a ruler and it said it was just below 1/4 inch thick. Initially didn't grease cookie sheet as instructed. Didn't try the buttercream frosting but used the frosting recipe on the powdered sugar bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I didn't make the buttercream frosting, so this review is only for the cookies. I made these for spiral snowman cookies, which are hand rolled then made into the shape of snowman by spiralling the roll. I just did a small test batch today; I'm going to make them with my friend and her 3 1/2 year old tomorrow. The dough is a tad crumbly and sticky, but that's easily dealt with by flour and chilling. The cookie itself is rather bland, but I'm not complaining. It will lend itself well to decorating. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States