Sugar Cookies with Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Maybe Allrecipes screwed something up when I had it cut the recipe in half for me, but these didn't turn out right at all! There was WAY too much flour. I had to add a lot more butter when mixing the dough so it wasn't just dough-colored dust, and even with icing (I just did powdered sugar and milk- I didn't try the buttercream here), they just taste like flour. Maybe the proportions are right if you make the full batch or do the math yourself, but I've never run into problems using that feature before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This is the perfect dough for cut-outs. The dough did not stick to my cookie cutters, even the vintage ones with enclosed backs. 5 minutes was a good baking time. I chilled the dough overnight and busted into smaller sections to roll out. It is very forgiving and melds into itself well when I had cracks or breaks. This is by far my new favorite sugar cookie recipe as they tasted fantastic! I did not try the frosting recipe. Instead used royal icing then decorated with "Simple & Delicious Butter Cream Frosting"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Excellent (cookie) recipe (Frosting recipe I did not follow)! Disclaimer: I ATTEMPTED to follow it exactly, however, am in Italy at the moment so I had to use the metric converter, which always seems to short change the flour (I added more until the dough seemed reasonable to roll and didn't stick like crazy to my fingers). I also had to make my own cookie cutters, which can be done easily by shaping strips of a sliced up pop can (thank you pinterest!!). Therefore, my cookies were RATHER on the small side (obsiously, less than a pop can diameter), and a half receipe turned out to make about 40 of these small little cookies. The cookies were soft and delicious! I just used butter and powdered sugar with some vanilla for the frosting, because what the heck is the point using shortening and butter flavoring!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This dough was so easy to work with and tasty both with and without frosting. I didn't use the frosting from this recipe (I used the sugar cookie icing recipe to make). I let the dough sit for an hour in the fridgerator and it was perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Super easy to work with! Followed exactly. Frosting was perfect with it. Thanks so much will get lots of use out of this holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and found the cookies came out perfectly. I used another icing recipe off this site but the cookies were tasty and looked like they should. I will definitely use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by grace young
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and I was worried they might be hard but they turned out soft. I also used a different frosting that dried hard so I could stack them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Way too much butter very hard to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This is a very delicious frosting recipe. It was smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamDMorrison
Photo by Cookies?!?
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This recipe was perfect. I was on the edge about using the frosting recipe because of the mixed reviews, but when I tried another one and it was a total disaster I had to use this one as a back up and everything turned out great. These cookies were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States