Sugar Cookies with Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Courtney
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
OK, so this is like 2 recipes in one-one for the cookies and one for the frosting-If I were reviewing the cookies alone, I would give them a 4...they are light, airy, and yummy...easy to work with too, they were perfectly done after 5 min. in my oven...The frosting, though. Personally, I feel that 'buttercream' should have at least one of those two ingredients in it...it tasted like pure shortening,(and I followed the recipe to a tee) also, because it was so greasy from the shortening, I literally had to run my dishwasher 2 times to get all of the residue off of the dishes (I put the mixing bowl in the dishwasher, and everything came out greasy) On top of this, the frosting did not hold color very well- it kept seperating out...maybe it would have been better if I had used the gel color, but I probably won't make these again to see...to the reviewer who stated that they would be using this frosting for all of their cakes from now on, may I make a suggestion? If you like this, try "Rick's special buttercream" from this site...WAY BETTER, just as easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I could eat these all day! yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
this recipe is fantastic ! I will definitely make it again, the cookies were light and fluffy, just like the ones sold in Giant grocery stores ! YUM !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
These are wonderful! They've now become "my" sugar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I used this cookie recipe with the "Sugar Cookie Icing" recipe on this site. Dough was easy to work with and great tasting. Will use again -- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Best ever. Had to hold myself back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I made this recipe for my husband and his co-workers, and it was a hit! Everyone loved them. The texture of the cookies is perfect, and the frosting is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Excellent sugar cookie recipe! I did not use the frosting recipe, as I did not have butter extract. I used "Sugar Cookie Frosting" from this site and these turned out excellent. I made mine quite large, so baking time had to be adjusted. Will use again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
The sugar cookie dough is very plain, the cookie is good with the icing, but I think I will find a new cookie dough recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maddison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I didn't love this recipe the first time I made it, but I don't like frosting. A lot of other people did though. The second time I made it I added a tsp. of lemon zest. This made it delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States