Sugar Cookies X Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
These are the only sugar cookies I make! I use one cup confectioner's sugar and one cup granulated, though, and I also prefer using orange or lemon extract as the vanilla is a bit plain. I also only use 1/4 tsp salt. Be careful not to overbake - I like them when the bottoms are only slightly golden - tops should look white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I was sitting here watching CNN waiting for the Obama/McCain debate when into my mind, sugar cookies appeared. I got on my computer to find a "recipe, brown edge sugar cookies" thinking it would turn up nothing since the subject was too long and that I would probably end up on a porn site. I could not have been more wrong but to find this Heavenly recipe for the best sugar cookies I ever made. I checked the larder and found: No butter! Since my wife is at work, my son is at the "Y" and I being legally blind, (unable to drive) I sought out a substitute. Aha! One stick of margarine and the scrapings in an old can of Crisco. I quickly combined the ingredients thinking that even though they would not exactly be up to snuff, I would eat anything with flour and sugar. I went back to the television to await the cooling period. Exactly 1/2 hour later, I pulled the dough from the fridge and started the ball rolling so to speak. Oh my! To my dismay, the dough was so soft, but I continued on anyway. 10 minutes later, I checked the oven to see to my surprise, 6 inch sugar cookies with perfect brown edges. I let them cool for a few minutes then let them set on brown paper. The only problem was 12 cookies on that sheet was too many and the edges were imperfect. So, what is any good baker to do? Yup, I ate the first dozen and they were heavenly. When I finish, I will take a picture of them and post it here. I can't wait to get some butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
Awesome cookie, I used a cookie press the first time and it worked out great. The second time I used a scoop and again they were just as wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Delicious!! These were exactly what I was looking for! My first batch I baked for 8 minutes and they came out very soft. My next batches I baked for about 11 minutes because I wanted a sturdier cookie so I could frost them. These are delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
a great cookie soft and tasty!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Tasty and pretty. Only caveat is be aware these are not suitable for sugar cookie cut outs, even after chilling. They spread like crazy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
I have been searching for the perfect sugar cookie recipe and I found it! The only thing is that you have to leave the dough in the frig for 2 hours. I added food coloring to sugar and made different pastel colors for easter and sprinkled a different color on every cookie. Thanks for the great recipe! Christine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This is the best recipe for cookies ever. And, I made them vegan using egg replacer, soy-milk and a fake-butter! They are perfect and taste delicious. Ice them with your favorite vegan frosting and they are the best. I baked them for 10 minutes, they will be very soft when they first come out of the oven but just wait a few minutes o move them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Taste just like my Grandma used to make! I also took suggestions from other posts and used 1/2 cup vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTIF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
These turned out perfect. I followed the recipe almost to a tee. The only thing I changed was I added a 1/2 tsp of almond extract for extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States