Sugar Cookies VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
These are amazing sugar cookies, especially if you are looking for a traditional, buttery sweet cookie with no frills. This recipe makes old-fashioned, delicious, soft cookies. One tip in making these come out great: rather than drop them onto your baking sheet using spoons or a scoop as you would with chocolate chip cookies, roll them into 1 1/2 inch balls, then roll through a small bowl of white sugar, then place on the baking sheet. This makes them perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I used 2 tsp orange extract instead of the lemon extract, and these were absolutely great!!!! And so easy to cook!!! They are soft and chewy, and have a nice orange flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
A good old-fashioned sugar cookie with just the right amount of “chew.” I did like the orange and lemon extracts for a change, but in the future I’ll stick to just the vanilla. I added sprinkles to the dough just for fun and a little pizzazz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
Sorry but no one in my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
really liked this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This is a super-easy version of the sugar cookie recipe that my great-great grandmother brought over from Germany at the turn of the century. Her recipe used lemon and orange zest - this is much easier, and just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
These cookies were rather good. Not the best I've ever tasted but still not that bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
These came out very well. I used 2 teaspoons of orange extract instead of adding lemon extract. It was subtly orange flavored. If you're looking for an extreme, I would suggest adding a bit more extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
These weren't mind-blowing, but they really were very simple and had a lovely, light, yummy flavor. The dough was easy to handle, and because they're so easy to make, I gave them 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
We have to use butter flavored shortening due to food allergies, but these were delicious! Used homemade extracts and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States