Sugar Cookies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
These were terrific. I used a mixer to blend all of the ingredients which made for a nice, soft dough. These were very eary to roll out. A suggestion for those whose shapes did not stay...break the dough up into small sections. Keep the rest of the dough in the fridge until ready to use. Also, while other cookies were baking, I put the unused tray in the fridge to cool off quickly. I learned that if the tray is too hot, it will begin to distort the shape of your cookies even before you put them in the oven. Try it. It really helps to keep the shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
These cookies were pretty good, but nothing to write home about. You can't expect amazing cookies unless you're willing to go the extra mile and try one of the other sugar cookie recipes that have 15 different ingredients in them. I picked these cookies because it's a very simple recipe and I had all the ingredients on hand. The only thing I didn't like too much was that the dough was really thick and I had a hard time working with it. Because of the other reviews, I didn't roll out the dough or cut shapes. I just dropped them and they came out perfectly shaped. Crispy on the outside with a soft, chewey inside. Overall, these were good cookies. Perfect for the house, but if I needed a batch to impress, I would try one of the more elaborate recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Best sugar cookie recipe I've ever made. The cookies are the perfect combination of crispy and soft. I won't be looking for a sugar cookie recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2000
I first made this cookie with vanilla and that batch disappeared in 3 days. The 18 year old loved them so did my husband who is very fussy about cookies. For the second batch I used almond extract. Also, well received. I baked them for 9 minutes so the cookie is soft (a preference for these cookie monsters). Thank you for sharing this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
These were wonderful!!! The kids loved them. My only suggestion is to increase the amount of flour to 4 or 5 cups. The dough was too sticky only using 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
Bad Recipe! I was looking for a new sugar cookie recipe to try with my son. This is not it. Way too sticky. Impossible to roll out. I even refrigerated the dough for two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
I used 1/2 butter, 1/2 butter flavored Crisco shortning in the recipe, and refrigerated the dough for a couple of hours. I didn't roll them, but I put rounded pieces of dough onto cookie sheets and baked them. I had no problems with them spreading at all..chewy/crispy at the same time. The whole family loved them...couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I made these today and it was a disaster. The cookies seemed fine untill we rolled them out, and they would stick horribly no matter how much flour I used. They didn't hold the shape of our cut-out and burned before 8 minutes was up. The taste was okay but not impresive. I reread the recipe to see if I left something out, and I don't see anything I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
I was very disappointed in these cookies. I intended to use them with my son to roll out and frost. After two days of chilling the dough in hopes that it would stiffen up enough to roll, we gave up and dropped them. Unfortunately, they are pretty flavorless, so it was all a complete waste of ingredients and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2000
I bake cookies at least twice a week, and these are the BEST sugar cookies I have tasted. Even without frosting or sugar, they are buttery and moist. I have thrown away my other sugar cookie recipes and using only this one from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOM3BOYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States