Sugar Cookies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
i thought since so many people thought it was good they would turn out great. I tried using even less flour than i was supposed to but they STILL turned out dry!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Oh goodness, the batter is really goupey - no way you could roll it for cutting into shapes. They baked up oddly chewy and really flat. I tried them for the first time for an Easter get-together and they weren't good enough to bring along. I double and triple checked all of the ingredients too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I keep this dough in the freezer at all times. When my grandchildren come to visit, they love making these cookies. I have never had any problems rolling out the dough or working with this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
The dough did not cook well at all. It flattened out and spilled over the cooking sheet while in the oven. I'd give this recipe 0 stars if the rating thing would let me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I wish I would have read some of the reviews before making these cookies. The dough was terrible to work with, very sticky, even after refrigerating/freezing. No possible way to roll them out. They did make good drop cookies, speading nicely. But the taste was not good. I was hoping for a buttery sugary flavor, but I did not get that at all. I made one pan, tasted them and they were bad. I sprinkled the next pan with powdered sugar and they were still bad. I checked the recipe to make sure I did everything right, which I did, then I threw away the rest of the dough. I would not recommend this recipe. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chelle
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I love this recipe, I always make a double batch separate 2/3 into 2 differant bags and freeze for later use while using the other 1/3 to make sugar cookies. just like most sugar cookie recipes you use more floor to stiffen up the dough to roll and cut into shapes so it can bake without losing it's shape. I have yet to drop them. my step-sons and I have enjoyed many hours of decorating sugar cookies w/ this recipe, Thank you for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Wasn't good for me. 1)the dough froze 2)then it thawed b/f I knew it 3)it was hard to remove from the spatula to cookie sheet 4)it lost its shape while baking 5)it seemed to be a very brittle dough..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This recipe was super easy and good. I didnt have the million ingredients that the other recipes called for so i did this one. I used 1 cup sugar and 1 cup splenda to see if it would work and it worked fine. I froze the dough for 2 hours then rolled it out and baked them. I dont see how you could mess this recipe up, i am not a cookie baking person and i still got it right! Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andalusia, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ludowici, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
These cookies were delicious and I was able to use them as cut-outs pretty well. I didn't have baking soda on hand so I substituted 1.5 tsps baking powder and they came out fine. I definitely recommend them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Great Recipe...I rolled the dough in batches between wax paper and it worked very well. i used ungreased baking pans and they spread just fine. They tasted great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States