Sugar Cookies VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2005
We loved these cookies! I did use the vanilla, and just for a bit of spice I added 1/4 tsp of ginger and 1sp of cinnamon. You really do have to chill the dough and the trays, and work fast. I used powdered sugar instead of flour to prevent sticking and I really think it worked well and added a little extra to the flavour. Thanks Galia for sharing this fun, easy recipe. My little one had a ball using the cookie cutters and decorating then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I was going to wait to review this recipe until I had used it again, but then decided to post my results/mistake in the possibility that it might help someone else. I only had large granule white sugar and dark brown sugar so I used them instead of normal sugar and light brown. The cookies that were baked for only 10 minutes had a gummy/cardboardy texture, and the ones that baked for longer were crispy to the point of being too crispy. They were, however, good in milk. I added a little ground ginger and cinnamon to half the dough, and enjoyed the flavor more than without the extra spices. If I get around to baking again with fine white sugar and light brown sugar I will post results and compare the two batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dagwood17

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
These cookies are crispy and very tasty. The brown sugar gives them a great flavor. I used vanilla and recommend you do too. The dough rolls out very, very easily and is somewhat fragile. If you need to decorate your cutout shapes before baking them, it is a good idea to chill the cookie sheet with the unbaked cookies on it in the refrigerator for 10 minutes or so before proceeding. It is also a good idea to chill the sheet with the unbaked cookies on it before placing it into your preheated oven. This recipe reminds me of a recipe I lost nearly 40 years ago. Thanks Galia!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
I have tried two other recipes and this one was the best! They were easy to cut out and baked quickly. I will have to make more to give out for Christmas. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2000
They were not easy to roll out, but they were good for drop cookies! These taste good and were gone the next day. I had to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
First time making ANY home made cookies and these taste awesome. They stay soft and chewy AND they were so much fun to decorate! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Very good taste and texture! They are like the ones that we get from the local bakery. A tip for some who have trouble rolling and cutting: flatten dough out on a plastic cutting board and place in freezer for several minutes and use different size biscuit cutters for cutting, then bake for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I loved these cookies! I made them for Valentine's Day and they were a hit. I only chilled them for 40 minutes and didn't have any trouble rolling them out. They were soft and delicious. I will definately use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Overall, good cookie. My first attempt at sugar cookies, and was looking for a simple recipe, that didn't have me running to the store! This was it! No complaints here. Although, I've had better....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meljeanand

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I've never been a big fan of sugar cookies, but these are by far the best I've ever had! My husband and I could not stop eating them, and between the two of us, they disappeared within a week. The only change I made to this recipe was adding 1 tsp. of almond extract. Delicious! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States