Sugar Cookies IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
These cookies are FABULOUS! We didn't notice an oily taste at all. They are quick and easy, and turn out delightfully chewy. The brown sugar gives them a very nice flavor. Twelve minutes in the oven was not enough for ours, though -- they needed 18-20. We kept checking them and took them out just when the edges started to be very light brown. The recipe turns out a nice big batch. Oh, and you don't have to bother to flatten them on the cookie sheet -- you can just drop them on in globs and they'll spread themselves out to just the right thickness. We'll be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Shallenberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
This recipe is so perfect. I was looking for a simple recipe for cookies that called for ingredients that I always have on hand. I have added ground hazlenuts in one batch, ground walnuts and maple flavoring in another (used 1tbsp maple and 1tbsp vanilla), added the zest of one whole orange and a little of the juice in the last batch (use less butter), and today I am doing one batch with oatmeal added, another with cocoa powder to make chocolate cookies, and another with spices and maple flavoring instead of vanilla (I ran out of vanilla). This is perfect to play with and make your own. THANKS ROBIN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I found these cookies to be pretty good, but not the best ever. They are really quick and easy to make. However, I found 300F too low temperature and raised it to 350F for 12 minutes. I also rolled the dough into balls and then pressed them down slightly with the bottom of a greased glass to get nice round, evenly shaped cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I had to join allrecipes to post this comment. I absolutely love these cookies. I did have to tinker with the time and temperature a bit, but I think thats because my oven insulation was pulled off by my son. I find that the dough is very easy to work with. No need to refrigerate just so I can form the cookies. The recipe is just as described in the subtitle. I am definitely an impatient baker! You can enjoy your cookies soon after throwing the ingredients together. Also, the dough doesn't stick to my hands and I've made them in warm and cold weather. Thanks alot. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I thought these cookies were delicious! The brown sugar makes all the difference, I think, in how sweet these are. They're perfectly soft and chewy, I loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This is a quick cookie recipe with simple ingredients that tastes as good as more complicated cookie recipes. These can be baked as drop cookies and we then decorated them for Christmas! After my daughter informed me (the day before it was due) that she was to bring Christmas cookies to school for class credit, I quickly found this recipe online! We had the ingredients we needed, she got a quick baking lesson and the cookies were delicious! It was hard to resist eating them ourselves (after sampling the batch) and at school the kids polished them off in seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I do not have the patience to make sugar cookies that you have to roll out and cut out. This recipe was not only easy, but the cookies came out great. I rolled the dough into small balls and then rolled them in colored sprinkles. They flattened out to a perfect cookie. Nice and soft, not hard as a rock. I did cook them at 300 degrees for about 12 minutes. PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
These cookies are excellent. It's a simple, easy recipe, that is not at all labor intensive. The brown sugar makes the cookies taste a bit like chocolate chip cookies minus the chocolate chips, which is something I love. I think next time I make them I will add walnuts. They are a very soft, chewy cookie, not a crisp cookie. Very good and I will be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I love this recipe! I used it as the "crust" for a fruit pizza and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Delcious, soft, lucious sugar cookies - a super easy recipe should not taste so heavenly! As far as sugar cookies go, these are top knotch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States