Sugar Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Loved this one! I did modifiy how I added the ingredients. I first mixed sugar and butter, then added egg and extracts. I beat til fluffy. Then I added the flour, baking soda, and tartar. It was not crumbly at all. After chilling a couple of hours, I rolled in 10x sugar as another reviewer suggested and thick cut them, then slightly under baked so they did not crisp at all. Frosted as directed. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Made this recipe as it called and I loved it! I am saving this for next year. Best sugar cookies I ever made. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I was looking for a cookie recipe for cut out cookies that wouldn't spread or rise - this is not the one. The cookies taste okay though, just not what I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Purcell, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corinth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I have been trying different cookie recipes trying to find one that was good for rolling and still tasted light and yummy! All I can say is that I will not have to look any further!!! I followed the recipes and let the dough set over night and when I went to roll: I just let it set for half an hour and then rolled out in powdered sugar. The powder sugar in my opinion made it taste better and was easier to use than flour. This was just amazing recipe and I am extremely glad that I found because I was making over 200 lily and heart cookies for a baby shower. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I was really looking forward to making this recipe. For many years I've used my Godmothers sugar cookie recipe but always found it to have a floury after taste. I made this cookie dough the night before substituting none of the ingredients. The following morning I took it out of the refrigerator, allowed it to sit on the counter for 15 minutes and rolled out the dough. It seemed perfect until I baked them. Every batch had flattened into one big mess. I had high hopes from the reviews but I would never spend the time or money making these again. Back to tweaking my Godmothers recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Perfect for cut-outs! The dough started out quite crumbly after I chilled it for about 4 hours, but once I started working with it, it smoothed out to a nice rolling consistency. The cookies are quite delicate, but they taste great and hold icing perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
For the people who complain that the dough is hard to roll out, I have a fail-proof trick.....wax paper. Lay the dough on wax paper, then cover with wax paper, then roll your little heart out. I don't even use additional flour. It's great! And, no mess to clean up. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
The flavor was a good start, although my mother complained you could taste the cream or tartar. My husband and I both thought there was too much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These should be called FLOUR cookies, Not Sugar Cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was a GREAT recipe. As other viewers said, yes, there was to much flour. And I would add less. But if you don't it doesn't matter. This is still a great recipe and is fantastic with buttercream icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma's Cookhouse

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States