Sugar Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2000
Delicious, especially good with a butter icing! Crispy, tasty and not too greasy! One of the best sugar cookies ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
this is the same recipe I use but I would never call them crispy. I take them out of the oven before the edges start to brown and they are soft and chewy. I roll them out pretty thick too because I only get 2 dozen out of this recipe. These are the best sugar cookies I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I had to make this cookie several times around Christmas time since my family would eat them up before I gave them to friends and family. The cookie dough itself was not sticky and rolled out very easily. Easy for little hands to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Mmmm! Very good! I tried two other recipes before coming to this one, and they were both failures. The first was tasteless and hard as a rock, the second was better but too floury. This recipe however is wonderful. I think the confectioner's sugar and cream or tartar really did the trick. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This recipe is GREAT for making the roll-out kind that you cut into shapes. I made a double batch, iced with buttercream icing, and took to my husbands LARGE family gathering. The people on diets were wanting to put them in another room because no one could stay out of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This was exactly the recipe I was looking for! It's the powdered sugar and cream of tartar that give it such a smooth texture. We are making at least three batches of these to keep up with the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishdona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
When I first made this dough, and hade nothing but a mass of crumbs that would not stick together, I was very doubtful. I decided that it might be like pie crust, and need time for the flour to hydrate, so I wrapped it in plastic and put it in the fridge for several hours. When it came out of the fridge it didn't look much better- but I worked it for only a few seconds, and it came together beautifully. When the cookies came out of the oven, I knew that these were the best sugar cookies I'd ever made- and promptly made another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
These cookies are scrumptious. They rise perfectly and are great for ice cream sandwiches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I love this recipe. This is the one my grandmother always used. You do have to watch the cookies closely because they will burn. The are not very sweet, which is okay if you are icing them. I did find that rolling them out in confectioner's sugar instead of flour helps the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These are absolutely the BEST sugar cookie we've found so far! I didn't have almond extract, so I used 1/8 tsp lemon extract instead. Very light texture, almost melts in your mouth. A bit fragile for little helpers to decorate though, even I broke a couple icing them. (It was a nice treat to eat the broken ones.) These worked nicely for cut outs and held their shape beautifully (no spreading).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States