Sugar Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Very good recipe but I had to make some changes. The first batch I made turned out way, way to floury. Nearly everyone at my work liked them but some complained of the floury taste and I agreed so I tweaked it a bit. To start I added 1/4 cup less flour and a little under 1/4 of a cup more butter and they turned out perfect in every way. With butter icing or with a divet in the center and a bit of fruit jelly and they're wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2000
Delicious, especially good with a butter icing! Crispy, tasty and not too greasy! One of the best sugar cookies ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These are absolutely the BEST sugar cookie we've found so far! I didn't have almond extract, so I used 1/8 tsp lemon extract instead. Very light texture, almost melts in your mouth. A bit fragile for little helpers to decorate though, even I broke a couple icing them. (It was a nice treat to eat the broken ones.) These worked nicely for cut outs and held their shape beautifully (no spreading).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
this is the same recipe I use but I would never call them crispy. I take them out of the oven before the edges start to brown and they are soft and chewy. I roll them out pretty thick too because I only get 2 dozen out of this recipe. These are the best sugar cookies I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I love this recipe. This is the one my grandmother always used. You do have to watch the cookies closely because they will burn. The are not very sweet, which is okay if you are icing them. I did find that rolling them out in confectioner's sugar instead of flour helps the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
When I first made this dough, and hade nothing but a mass of crumbs that would not stick together, I was very doubtful. I decided that it might be like pie crust, and need time for the flour to hydrate, so I wrapped it in plastic and put it in the fridge for several hours. When it came out of the fridge it didn't look much better- but I worked it for only a few seconds, and it came together beautifully. When the cookies came out of the oven, I knew that these were the best sugar cookies I'd ever made- and promptly made another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I had to make this cookie several times around Christmas time since my family would eat them up before I gave them to friends and family. The cookie dough itself was not sticky and rolled out very easily. Easy for little hands to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This recipe is amazing! I made the dough, tossed it in the fridge and promptly forgot about it for 4 days due to the craziness of the holiday season. Pulled it out today, let it warm up a bit (its less crumbly when its warmed in your hands) and proceeded to make the recipe, with the help of two overzealous junior bakers. They treated that dough very roughly and still the cookies came out feathery soft with a nice crispy edge. I turned the oven down to 370F so I could watch them more closely (they overbrown pretty quickly). All in all a great recipe and one that I have added to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LivininGTown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I finally found a sugar cookie that my husband gave a thumbs up to instead of giving a suggestion as to how to improve it! :) My preschooler and I made them together and deocorated only with solored sugar, no frosting, and they had a great flavor. Many other cut out recipes are too bland and "floury" tasting without frosting, but these were great. I added a little allspice (just for kicks) and used only vanilla (1 1/2 tsp) because I was out of almond extract. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
just didn't work well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States