Sugar Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Very good recipe but I had to make some changes. The first batch I made turned out way, way to floury. Nearly everyone at my work liked them but some complained of the floury taste and I agreed so I tweaked it a bit. To start I added 1/4 cup less flour and a little under 1/4 of a cup more butter and they turned out perfect in every way. With butter icing or with a divet in the center and a bit of fruit jelly and they're wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
After reading several reviews for this cookie, I decided to try the recipe. I'm not sure they are the best I've ever had, but they are definitely good. Almost a little too sweet for me, but still good. I prefer my cookies to have a little crunch versus soft and chewy. These had a nice crunch to them. I didn't have almond extract so I added a bit more Vanilla extract. The dough is sticky but workable with a little flour. I baked them at 350 degrees F instead of 375 F for 8-9 minutes since prior reviews claimed that they burned easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This recipe is amazing! I made the dough, tossed it in the fridge and promptly forgot about it for 4 days due to the craziness of the holiday season. Pulled it out today, let it warm up a bit (its less crumbly when its warmed in your hands) and proceeded to make the recipe, with the help of two overzealous junior bakers. They treated that dough very roughly and still the cookies came out feathery soft with a nice crispy edge. I turned the oven down to 370F so I could watch them more closely (they overbrown pretty quickly). All in all a great recipe and one that I have added to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LivininGTown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Very good, exactly as described! If your dough is to crumbly then you haven't mixed them enough and if it is to sticky you have mixed it to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
We've made these several times now to rave reviews from everyone who has had them. The only problem is, if you plan on rolling these out and cutting them with cookie cutters, you need to work in a fair bit more flour. I can't say how much more we add though. I start by putting some flour on my rolling surface and then some flour on top. I fold this until it just starts getting sticky again and add more flour under and over. I keep repeating this, working in a little flour at a time until I can fold it several times without it getting sticky. Also, to keep these from getting to floury I actually add in powdered sugar with the flour when I'm preparing it to roll, and when rolling. It takes a bit more effort, but they roll out much more easily so it is better in the long run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These are absolutely the BEST sugar cookie we've found so far! I didn't have almond extract, so I used 1/8 tsp lemon extract instead. Very light texture, almost melts in your mouth. A bit fragile for little helpers to decorate though, even I broke a couple icing them. (It was a nice treat to eat the broken ones.) These worked nicely for cut outs and held their shape beautifully (no spreading).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I'm not a very good baker at all, but these turned out great for me. The only thing I would say is that they weren't very sweet - even after I sprinkled them with decorative colored sugar. I would add a little more next time. Thanks, Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I love this recipe. This is the one my grandmother always used. You do have to watch the cookies closely because they will burn. The are not very sweet, which is okay if you are icing them. I did find that rolling them out in confectioner's sugar instead of flour helps the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
These cookies are scrumptious. They rise perfectly and are great for ice cream sandwiches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
These were great! I was looking for a sugar cookie that reminded me of the Pillsbury one as I live in Australia now & don't have sugar cookies here. These were better as home-made. Still looking for the thick, chewy sugar cookies of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tamworth, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States