Sugar Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Excellent! Pretty easy to work with. Nice, smooth texture when rolled. Crisp but tender. Terrific flavor. Adult worthy, not just for kids to decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
My boys love these cookies, very tastey and my boys have even made some themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Very good recipe but I had to make some changes. The first batch I made turned out way, way to floury. Nearly everyone at my work liked them but some complained of the floury taste and I agreed so I tweaked it a bit. To start I added 1/4 cup less flour and a little under 1/4 of a cup more butter and they turned out perfect in every way. With butter icing or with a divet in the center and a bit of fruit jelly and they're wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
After reading several reviews for this cookie, I decided to try the recipe. I'm not sure they are the best I've ever had, but they are definitely good. Almost a little too sweet for me, but still good. I prefer my cookies to have a little crunch versus soft and chewy. These had a nice crunch to them. I didn't have almond extract so I added a bit more Vanilla extract. The dough is sticky but workable with a little flour. I baked them at 350 degrees F instead of 375 F for 8-9 minutes since prior reviews claimed that they burned easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This recipe is amazing! I made the dough, tossed it in the fridge and promptly forgot about it for 4 days due to the craziness of the holiday season. Pulled it out today, let it warm up a bit (its less crumbly when its warmed in your hands) and proceeded to make the recipe, with the help of two overzealous junior bakers. They treated that dough very roughly and still the cookies came out feathery soft with a nice crispy edge. I turned the oven down to 370F so I could watch them more closely (they overbrown pretty quickly). All in all a great recipe and one that I have added to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LivininGTown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Very good, exactly as described! If your dough is to crumbly then you haven't mixed them enough and if it is to sticky you have mixed it to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
We've made these several times now to rave reviews from everyone who has had them. The only problem is, if you plan on rolling these out and cutting them with cookie cutters, you need to work in a fair bit more flour. I can't say how much more we add though. I start by putting some flour on my rolling surface and then some flour on top. I fold this until it just starts getting sticky again and add more flour under and over. I keep repeating this, working in a little flour at a time until I can fold it several times without it getting sticky. Also, to keep these from getting to floury I actually add in powdered sugar with the flour when I'm preparing it to roll, and when rolling. It takes a bit more effort, but they roll out much more easily so it is better in the long run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These are absolutely the BEST sugar cookie we've found so far! I didn't have almond extract, so I used 1/8 tsp lemon extract instead. Very light texture, almost melts in your mouth. A bit fragile for little helpers to decorate though, even I broke a couple icing them. (It was a nice treat to eat the broken ones.) These worked nicely for cut outs and held their shape beautifully (no spreading).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I'm not a very good baker at all, but these turned out great for me. The only thing I would say is that they weren't very sweet - even after I sprinkled them with decorative colored sugar. I would add a little more next time. Thanks, Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I love this recipe. This is the one my grandmother always used. You do have to watch the cookies closely because they will burn. The are not very sweet, which is okay if you are icing them. I did find that rolling them out in confectioner's sugar instead of flour helps the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States