Sugar Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I woke up from a nap and had to have some sugar cookies! I've never made them from scratch before, since I LOVE the sugar cookie mix from Bette Crocker! Anyway, I pretty much followed it exactly, only I did change the sugar measurements- I did 1 cup of powdered sugar and a half a cup of granulated. Also, I used half a cup of crisco and half a cup of butter. I was going to use the full cup of butter, but I was being assisted by a 4 year old and a 2 year old, and we had a minor mishap with the butter situation! No problem, though- they turned out delicious! I kept leaving the first batch in longer and longer waiting for the edges to appear brown, only by the time they were brown, they turned out very crunchy. I really like mine chewy, so for my oven- 5 minutes does the trick! We had fun cutting out halloween shapes and decorating them! This satisfied my craving (5 months pregnant over here) and I don't think I'll ever buy a mix again!! Thanks, Loved the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
the taste was great, however i ended up having to add a lot more flour while rolling...they turned our very airy. but taste good...mildly sweet. i frosted them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This recipe is so far my favorite. I did follow the advise on a previous review by taking them out of the oven as soon as the edges are golden brown; they came out soft and perfect to decorate. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etoile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I think I finally found the perfect sugar cookie recipe. Easy to work with and taste great. My boys loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
After trying many recipes the last few years this is our favorite!! I baked them at 325 degrees for 12-15 minutes to create an even crispier cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These cookies were tasty with a sweet frosting, however, I won't be using this recipe again. I wanted something to make with my daughter with cookie cutters. The dough spread in the oven to the point you could barely identify the shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ecinaj

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I have used this recipe 30+ years and have always thought it was by far the best sugar cookie recipe. I personally like the almond flavor in the cookie. I have tried other recipes just to see how they compare, there is no comparison - still love this stand-by recipe. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
well I won't be making these again. It's my first try ever at making a rolled cookie. blah. The dough kept cracking apart & I ended up patting the dough out with my hands then using the rolling pin to smooth it off. Too much picky poo work.My son says he likes them but he didn't grab his usual 6. he only ate 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
These are exactly what I am looking for! I searched and searched for a crispy sugar cookie recipe, and I found it! The only change I made was minor, and that was that I omitted the almond extract and used vanilla instead (I love vanilla). I didn't want to roll them out, so I skipped the chilling part and rolled my cookie balls (like you make for chocolate chip cookies) in granulated sugar and flattened them with the bottom of a cup dipped in sugar. In order for these to be truly crispy, you must bake them till they are a nice golden brown on the bottom and edges. Otherwise they will be soft. The sugar makes them so sparkly and pretty! Oh, and these don't need any frosting at all, which is what I love about them!Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States