Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
turns out perfect! i had to add just a dab extra milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
The only reason I give this 4 stars instead of 5 is that the steps to make it didn't seem quite right, and I was initially worried I was going to have to scrap the whole batch. I ended up with a super-thick paste and didn't want to add any more corn syrup after I felt like I had added a bunch, so I started thinning it out with water, instead, and that worked perfectly. I found that dipping the cookies in or applying it to them with a spook worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Perhaps I just did it wrong but I couldn't get the icing to work with SO much sugar and such little milk and corn syrup. Ending up adding heavy cream, a dash of salt, and making it that way. Turned out fine, not very glossy, but after drying it looked just as cute as I would've wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
No matter how hard I try, I never get icing that hardens to the point where I can stack them. I have tried this one and many others. I put them in the fridge, the freezer....to no avail. As soon as I touch the surface, squish! What am I doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Ive never been able to successfully ice my cookies but this icing is a definite 10. It's easy and it's very versatile. Just changing out the extract flavor I can easily make many flavors and colors for the kids to ice creatively. Very nice and tastes great too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehall, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
The proportions are definitely off. There is no way to mix those amounts of milk and sugar until it's smooth - no way. I doubled the milk (at least) and finally got it smooth. It was great for decorating. This was my first time really decorating cookies and I found it easy to work with (I'm a total beginner). It also set up nicely. It was pretty and a bit shiny and hardened (without getting hard if that makes sense) so that I was able to stack the cookies without any problems. My big problem with it (besides having to seriously tinker with the amounts) was the taste. The almond extract was overbearing and almost disgusting. I hated it. Maybe if I had substituted something else or used less, I would have liked it. I will never try this again (at least not with the almond extract - yuck!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Stuckey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This icing is very good. However, after the icing dries after a few hours, it does not stay shiny. It seems to fade. Does anyone have any tips? Ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Pretty frosting...but doesn't taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I absolutely loved it! As is, this recipe made a lightly flavored sweet icing that was perfect for spreading. I also made a 2nd batch for more of a glaze or drizzle using : 1 1/2 cups confectioners sugar, 2 TBSP milk, 2 TBSP light corn syrup, 1 tsp pure lemon extract, 13 drops yellow food coloring and a dash of salt. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I made three batches today for Valentine Day cookies and with each batch I learned a new tip. The number one tip that made a huge difference is to be absolutely sure you use a deep narrow bowl if possible. This makes it so much easier for the thick mixture to blend. I also used 3 tsp milk and 3 tsp corn syrup, but like others say, it depends on your preference. And lastly, I made the mistake of leaving the powder sugar and milk sit for over an hour without stirring...big mistake. I think you need to work it immediately or you'll be working with rocks, like I was. Nice consistently and it spreads beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 2,276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States