Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I had to make about 50 cookies for a class project, and I had to keep making more frosting even AFTER I adjusted the 'serving size'. In my opinion, it needs more vanilla to the powdered sugar to make it taste better. I ended up just making my own version which included agave nectar instead of corn syrup and milk with vanilla. They still came out shiny, and I personally think they taste a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I think it's too sweet. The icing LOOKS fantastic but it is too sweet and has not a lot of flavor. Please improve this recipe because I'm planning to make it for my family and they don't like supersweet stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Am I the only one who's came out tasting like the confectioners sugar? What did I do wrong? I used vanilla extract instead of almond
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
turns out perfect! i had to add just a dab extra milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
The only reason I give this 4 stars instead of 5 is that the steps to make it didn't seem quite right, and I was initially worried I was going to have to scrap the whole batch. I ended up with a super-thick paste and didn't want to add any more corn syrup after I felt like I had added a bunch, so I started thinning it out with water, instead, and that worked perfectly. I found that dipping the cookies in or applying it to them with a spook worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Perhaps I just did it wrong but I couldn't get the icing to work with SO much sugar and such little milk and corn syrup. Ending up adding heavy cream, a dash of salt, and making it that way. Turned out fine, not very glossy, but after drying it looked just as cute as I would've wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
No matter how hard I try, I never get icing that hardens to the point where I can stack them. I have tried this one and many others. I put them in the fridge, the freezer....to no avail. As soon as I touch the surface, squish! What am I doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Ive never been able to successfully ice my cookies but this icing is a definite 10. It's easy and it's very versatile. Just changing out the extract flavor I can easily make many flavors and colors for the kids to ice creatively. Very nice and tastes great too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehall, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
The proportions are definitely off. There is no way to mix those amounts of milk and sugar until it's smooth - no way. I doubled the milk (at least) and finally got it smooth. It was great for decorating. This was my first time really decorating cookies and I found it easy to work with (I'm a total beginner). It also set up nicely. It was pretty and a bit shiny and hardened (without getting hard if that makes sense) so that I was able to stack the cookies without any problems. My big problem with it (besides having to seriously tinker with the amounts) was the taste. The almond extract was overbearing and almost disgusting. I hated it. Maybe if I had substituted something else or used less, I would have liked it. I will never try this again (at least not with the almond extract - yuck!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Stuckey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 2,270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States