Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
An easy and quick substitute for royal icing. Not caring for almond, we used vanilla as our flavoring. For precision decorating, this seemed to spread a lot more for fine lines and details than royal icing, so for some projects it will not work. Many of the same decorating techniques carry over, though, and our cookies were cute. This recipe wins lots of points from me for being super quick to make and requiring simple ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I just iced my high heel cookies using this recipe! They really came out beautiful! My only though would maybe be a quick indication on how long icing takes to set before wrapping?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Deraney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This icing was exactly what I was looking for to decorate cookies for a wedding shower. Worked perfectly. I did have to thin it out with a little more milk than called for, but that wasn't an issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacqulyn
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
DELICIOUS. Easy to make, easy to use. Everyone can't believe you made a perfect frosting to top your sugar cookies! Let the icing dry completely on the cookie before storing. Save this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqulyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Norris, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Excellent icing. Has flavor and beauty. I used cream instead of milk so I needed to add more cream for the right consistency. I didn't need to make a separate frosting for the border so I'm very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momuv4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Nice icing recipe! I made a full recipe for half a batch of the Soft Christmas cookies from this site. Just had to play around with it, adding more corn syrup, until I got the consistency I wanted. Also used vanilla extract in place of the almond, but I'm sure that would have been good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
FIRST TIME I HAVE HAD ONE THAT ACTUALLY HARDENED! I have been making cookies with Royal Icing for years, mostly for my kids to draw on with edible markers. This is the first time I have had frosting that actually hardened and did not allow the markers to poke through AT ALL. FYI - the first time I made it, I did not have corn syrup on hand, so I used maple syrup. I also could not use almond extract because it was for school (no nuts) so I substituted vanilla extract instead. That batch DID NOT harden all the way for 24 hours. I did use corn syrup for the second and third batches (again with vanilla instead of almond extract) and those hardened within hours. The kids loved the taste on our sugar cookies (as did the adults in the group)! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This is a wonderful recipe, especially when paired with the top rated sugar cookie recipe. Absolutely amazing! You can tweak the ingredients to make it as thick or thin as you want for all you icing and piping needs! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Kathryn Daily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I like to never got the icing to look like real icing. It was so stiff and difficult to stir. I was pretty frustrated. There has to be something i did wrong. Tasted good and spreads well finally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Mulford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
It didn't taste right. It wasn't glossy. The texture was too difficult to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lyon, Rhône-Alpes, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 2,355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States