Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This was visually a beautiful icing. Colored with gel colors. The icing set up beautifully in a short time and made the cookies stackable. However, it is not tasty. Very artificial tasting probably because of the corn syrup. I tried it with the almond extract and substituting fresh lemon juice. You also need to add quite a bit more milk to get a spreadable consistency. You can mix it in a stand mixer which was helpful time wise. I will continue to search for a good icing recipe so the cookies will taste as good as they look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Just found this recipe the other day and decided to try it on my Christmas sugar cookies. It is so easy to make and my cookies came out beautiful. I did have to add more corn syrup as stated in the directions. I was able to pipe the icing on and use a brush without any problems. The icing dries nicely so that I could store them easily all together in one container. I decided to use vanilla in place of the almond flavor and it turned out great. I will have to experiment with other flavors next time I make it. Thanks so much for sharing such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weaubleau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
All those reviews and I never tried until this year. EXCELLENT! Did anyone say this recipe is great? I will ALWAYS use this recipe for frosted cookies in the future. I made a double batch and then made another double batch of another color. I used 1/2 and 1/2 milk and about doubled the amount to get the consistency right. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Fool Proof! I have never done anything like this before, so I was really worried. Somehow I completely mis-measured things, and then I was just adding liquids or sugar to get whatever consistency I thought was right. Then I ended up leaving it for a bit (covered) and it dried out, so I just added a little milk thinking this was never going to work out. But despite all my mistakes it was absolutely great! It dries pretty fast, but it's not so hard that it breaks your teeth. I added a little peppermint oil and it was great on my ginger bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This worked as described. I added a tsp extra milk to make it a little thinner since I used gel colours instead of liquid colour. I can't give it 5 stars because it doesn't taste like anything except icing sugar, not very appetizing but it looks beautiful and packs well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Quick and easy! Be careful when you add the milk. Too much milk, and the icing gets drippy. Nice flavor with almond extract. I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I followed the recipe and added additional corn syrup as instructed but the almond extract completely ruined this recipe for me. I was really disappointed, maybe next time I'll try this with a different extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel R.
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
So glad I didn't have to make batch after batch of royal icing for good-looking cookies. Thanks for the recipe, I'll use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Love this icing recipe!! If you do a more watery consistency the icing goes on super smooth and will harden just like professional bought cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This recipe has completely changed my outlook on sugar cookies. Now they are my absolute favorite to decorate and take to places to share. People rave about them all the time and kids LOVE them (especially cookie pops on a stick!) Looks fantastic, tastes delicious, and is SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 2,272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States