Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
This icing reminds me of a cookie bakery called "Eileen's." Very popular with all children and adults. It is really really rich and very sweet. One will conquer any sweet tooth. My 10 yo couldn't eat them!! Great for Birthday parties! I used them with the cracked sugar cookie recipe. If you r looking for something sweet, this does the trick, but if you r looking for something more old fashioned, then not. Very good. The only changes I made with the second batch was not adding the original amount of icing, just a thin layer. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I used Coconut Dream instead of milk and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Absolutely FABULOUS! Great texture and flavour. The family LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheRebel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Easy, and shiny, hard finish without using egg whites or other fussy ingredients. I used golden corn syrup, since I was adding colours anyway, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I like the recipe but if I decorate my cookies too far in advance, the icing dries out too much and it discolors. If not for that, I'd give it 5 stars. Anyone else have this issue? I make the recipe as written but using vanilla extract. I don't like almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Added a little more milk for a more runny consistency so my two year old could easily paint the cookies. We had fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
My go to cookie decorating icing. Dries hard but soft when eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginab999

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katie
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
This icing was great. I mixed together every ingredient listed in the recipe thoroughly, then added extra milk by the 1/2 tsp, stirring until I got an ideal consistency. I piped a thicker icing outline along the silhouette of my sugar cookies, then once it dried slightly, filled in the outline with a slightly runnier/thinner consistency icing, & smoothed the centre out with the tip of a toothpick. After several hours once it dried completely they were stackable. The cookies looked professionally done & were beautifully smooth, tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Turned Chalky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States