Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by PinayWorkingMom
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Made and iced sugar cookies for the first time, this glaze is great for decorating as it's adaptable to different consistencies for outlining and flooding. It dries very quickly, sets up nicely so that you can stack cookies, but doesn't turn your chewy sugar cookies to rock, if you know what I mean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cebu City, Cebu, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Followed the recipe, as written with half a batch, then following top rated suggestions from thus page. Neither batch hardened even when cookies were left to dry overnight. Now I've wasted an entire batch of cookies with an icing that will not harden. Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This recipe is fool proof! It does need to be thinned out so I use 2 or 3 teaspoons of milk to 1 teaspoon of corn syrup until I get the consistency of glue or shampoo. This recipe also "softens" a hard sugar cookie...cookie soaks up moisture. The painting method was tedious and sloppy so I use two methods. Dip the face of cookie into prepared bowl of icing. Let it dry on cooling rack. Excess icing will drip off cookie. Make sure you put paper towels under rack. Second method takes more time but a neater, more professional looking cookie. Wilton icing bottles or sandwich baggies with tiny bit of corner cut off. Line the edges of cookie, let dry. Fill in using stripes of frosting, spread to fill space with toothpick or small icing spatula. We all LOVE the almond flavoring. Buy really good quality extract. It makes a difference. Also I have only used this with gel concentrate food colorings. Wilson's gel colorings are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Parksion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocodejichef
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Great! My sister and I had so much fun making these cookies and the icing finished off in a very pretty shiny glaze. It dries hard and it doesn't taste bad. I would recommend this recipe to anyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anewport
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
So easy! So yummy! Loved how shiny it was when dried and yes watch out, it dries quickly so you if you plan on using sprinkles do it right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I can't get the milk and sugar smooth. Arg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This recipe works like magic. It's the first time for me making icing and I couldn't figure out how so much sugar and so little fluid could turn into a glossy white sugar icing. But it was like magic- one minute I'm stirring clumpy white sugar, and in a second the sugar turns into a glossy, gel like bowl of icing. Fun! I set the quantity to 24 cookies and I had enough icing to decorate 42 gingerbread stars, so a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivian Li

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I ran out of corn syrup so I used honey instead. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This frosting did not work at all. Once the liquid was added to the 1 cup confect. sugar I had just 1/3 cup of frosting which was too stiff to spread. Warming it made it spreadable but all the small lumps would not smooth out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Wolfe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I loved this recipe! It has a very strong flavor of almond extract(I used half of the recommended amount).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 2,314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States