Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Photo by Maria
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Delicious! It was so easy to make. I made them for Valentines Day. I didn't have any almond extract, so I used vanilla flavoring instead, and the cookies came out so good! Next time I will definitely use almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Perfect! It came out just how I wanted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This icing was great! I had to adjust the recipe by adding a little more milk, but overall my family loved them! The icing was glossy and stayed firm which gave the cookies a neat appearance. I am definintely saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I used vanilla, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA
Photo by PrincessM7
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Fabulous! I second that this is the "Holy Grail of icing." You will have to add more milk, but do so at the end. Add a little at a time until you get the desired consistency. I didn't have corn syrup so I made simple syrup (1/2 cup sugar, 1/8 cup water will make enough for 2 teaspoons). This will probably also be great with vanilla extract. I am going to try it with lemon extract and yellow food coloring on shortbread cookies. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was my first experience with icing sugar cookies :) The recipe was very easy to make, and tasted good. It was a little hard to apply to the cookies (I didn't have a new, clean paint brush, so I used my pastry brush.) It did harden nicely, and I was able to stack my cookies. However, I think my house may have been too cold, because the glaze got some kind of white spots on some of them. I used vanilla extract instead of almond, lemon would be good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
very easy to use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Made as instructed but had to add more milk. Turned out great! Love that you can control consistency to either dip or spread but doesn't have the yucky aftertaste like royal icing or using egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Metamora, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Look no further - this is the only cookie icing recipe you will ever need! Applying the icing takes some practice, but they are quite beautiful when done properly! I always use vanilla extract as we don't care for almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Love it! I kind of played around with the powdered sugar and milk amounts until it looked like the consistency I wanted. Loved the addition of the almond extract. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hopewittig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schererville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 2,269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States