Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Best sugar cookie recipe I have ever find. I was a bit concerned after I mixed things up and it was pretty thick. The reviews saved me: add more milk. Not a lot, but maybe another 1/2 - 1 teaspoon. This recipe makes for a VERY pretty cookie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
The icing complements sugar cookies perfectly. They were a hit at home and with friends and co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This recipe makes a nice thin icing to decorate an entire cookie, make it thicker for piping. It dries quickly so you have to be ready for other decor or have some help before they dry. Easy to flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Use this with the Best Rolled Sugar Cookie recipe. People cant believe they arent from a bakery, its that good! The icing hardens but is still tasty and your able to pack them up with no smudges. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrenabee
Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I feel like im rating this recipe higher then it really should be! The proportions are way off! There is no way as recipe is written this icing is spreadable I had to add alot more milk! my cookies turned out nice but only because of my adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
It tastes great, but the measurements are way off. 2 teaspoons of milk to 1 cup of powdered sugar? Wow. That's not even enough to get the sugar wet. I had to add a lot more milk, and it was still very thick and hard to work with. It was my first time making icing, so I had no feel for how thick it was supposed to be, so for the recipe to be so far off on the measurements was frustrating and unhelpful. But I eventually figured it out, and it does taste good and looks good on the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Looks beautiful and is super easy. One word of warning, do not freeze this icing. The colors dulled and turned blotchy. Just let the icing dry then store cookies in an airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I've been searching for a recipe like this!! Love the sheen it puts on the cookies. I didn't have time to do another layer this time around but will "budget" my time the next go round so I can play a bit more to see what results I can get by adding more dimension to the decorating process. I did mess up by adding all ingredients at once but added a bit more milk to enable thorough mixing. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This icing is delicious and easy to work with. My 2-5 year old grandkids used paint brushes to paint it on the cookies. The toppings stick great and as it states it dries perfectly so cookies can be stacked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Dradi Malloy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
The amount of milk and corn syrup the recipe says you need makes a thick unspreadable paste. Not something you can ice cookies with. Had to add double what the recipe called for just to make it smooth and easily drizzled or spreadable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 2,348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States