Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
It works ok but drying time is long - a tablespoon of meringue powder will cut down on drying time - and is safer than real egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I have used it for many years, and it's great except that when it says to add more corn syrup it consistently needs 3 times as much as the recipe says. Do not make a larger batch because it will start to dry in the bowl before you can use it up. Just repeat the easy recipe if you have more cookies. In recent years I have quit using corn syrup and instead make a clear syrup using 3 Tbsp granulated sugar and 3 Tbsp water cooked together for 2 and 1/2 min. in my 1250W microwave. I can't tell any difference and it saves the bother of having light corn syrup around with no other purpose than this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEP47

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pbutler64
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Perfect! I don't have almond extract (actually don't like the flavor) and used lemon juice instead. The flavor is amazing and the icing is perfect for sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pbutler64
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Needs way more milk than stated to make frosting, but with the added milk it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Followed this recipe exactly and it came out perfect. I didn't have to adjust at all. It's very sweet but that is to be expected. Good spreadable frosting for cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Great recipe! Like everyone else, I added more milk and corn syrup to get it to the consistency I liked, but I did over 5 dozen cookies for a work event and they look professional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Delicious, easy to work with and to make. Finished product looks nice and shiny like professionals. It's hard enough to stack but soft when you eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
It does make for a very pretty cookie but the taste is mediocre at best. I will stick with a butter icing and deal with the fact that I can't stack them the way I could with this icing, but I would rather have pretty AND delicious and deal with not being able to stack them than have pretty, stackable cookies that have icing that isn't very palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The recipe worked well, but way too sweet. I added extra almond and vanilla and corn syrup then painted it onto the cookies. It did harden and was able to store the cookies stacked in the container. All in all, good recipe and will use again only with my additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I prefer to use a butter icing to ice cookies with. It does dry fairly well if you leave it for a day or two. i just use royal type icings for eyes and mouths etc..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 2,280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States