Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Quick and easy! Be careful when you add the milk. Too much milk, and the icing gets drippy. Nice flavor with almond extract. I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I followed the recipe and added additional corn syrup as instructed but the almond extract completely ruined this recipe for me. I was really disappointed, maybe next time I'll try this with a different extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel R.
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
So glad I didn't have to make batch after batch of royal icing for good-looking cookies. Thanks for the recipe, I'll use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Love this icing recipe!! If you do a more watery consistency the icing goes on super smooth and will harden just like professional bought cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This recipe has completely changed my outlook on sugar cookies. Now they are my absolute favorite to decorate and take to places to share. People rave about them all the time and kids LOVE them (especially cookie pops on a stick!) Looks fantastic, tastes delicious, and is SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
this is a great icing that is close to royal icing in finish but is soft and has a better flavour. I added butter flavouring as well as vanilla. for the best consistency to put in a piping bag I added approximately 1 more cup of icing sugar and a bit more water so it was thick but still flowed. you will have to play with it a bit until you get the desired finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineMalf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Invermere, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This is a 5 star! In the last two nights I painted 6 batches of cookies with ease. I do agree with the lady about the almond flavoring. I usually like it, but I didn't in the icing. So I switched to lemon and was very pleased. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Karr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
It works ok but drying time is long - a tablespoon of meringue powder will cut down on drying time - and is safer than real egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I have used it for many years, and it's great except that when it says to add more corn syrup it consistently needs 3 times as much as the recipe says. Do not make a larger batch because it will start to dry in the bowl before you can use it up. Just repeat the easy recipe if you have more cookies. In recent years I have quit using corn syrup and instead make a clear syrup using 3 Tbsp granulated sugar and 3 Tbsp water cooked together for 2 and 1/2 min. in my 1250W microwave. I can't tell any difference and it saves the bother of having light corn syrup around with no other purpose than this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEP47

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pbutler64
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Perfect! I don't have almond extract (actually don't like the flavor) and used lemon juice instead. The flavor is amazing and the icing is perfect for sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pbutler64

Displaying results 91-100 (of 2,267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States