Sugar Cookie Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Absolutely hands-down the greatest glaze I’ve ever made! I think the difference is in using the corn syrup. I’ve tried making this recipe using both milk and water as I’ve made this glaze many times already… I definitely have found that the makes it taste much better. As some of the other reviewers found, using the milk DOES make the finish somewhat matte, but it still looks great and tastes even better with milk. It works wonderful with food coloring too. I put this glaze on the “Best Rolled Sugar Cookies” from this site and WOW, what a combo!!! People go nuts when they try these cookies. Just dip the cookie face-down in this glaze and twist, place on a piece of waxed paper and let sit for a couple hours. Make another bowl of this glaze in a contrasting color, take a spoon and drizzle it over the cookie for a neat effect too. Dries nice and hard! GREAT RECIPE! I’ve used it time and time again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
679 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Like other reviewers said, this glaze needs a bit of a flavor boost. I added several drops of almond extract, and it tastes wonderful! You can make it thicker by adding extra powdered sugar or thinner by adding water, so it's a very easy glaze to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
363 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I used this on my sugar cookies and I found it to be a little too thin and I had to redip my cookies after it dried. I think it would work out better to add more powdered sugar to thicken it up a little. I thickened it up a whole lot after I was done glazing the cookies and put it into a frosting bag with a fine round tip ( I also added food color ) and I piped on the details I wanted and this turned out great! I also added a little vanilla to it because I found it to be a little bland as is. I think next time, also, I'll try it with milk instead of water. Update: I thickened it quite a bit this time, but it was still flowy enough to dip the cookies and this worked out much better. It coated them better and it dried clearer and shinier. Also, I put it in a glass pie plate so I could fit some of my bigger cookies in there. I still just used water; didn't try it with milk in the glaze. Lastly, I do double the recipe, otherwise it's not enough and do stir the glaze before dipping each cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This glaze made my pumpkin-shaped sugar cookies come out beautiful! They were bright, shiney and hard enouph to stack. Some advice for those not-so-experianced bakers as myself...DO NOT PUT COOKIES IN FRIDGE AFTER GLAZING! The shine was GONE when I took them out due to condensation. :( Lesson learned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strawberryshortcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
When using this recipe, always, always always siftthe powdered sugar at least 2 or 3 times. This makes the glaze flow over the cookie a bit easier and will eliminate any blotches. This is a wonderful glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
Been meaning to review this since last Christmas! This is the coolest glaze. It keeps the intensity of color when food pastes/cake decorating gels are added. I find that a kid's paint brush (found in those water color kits) works great to spread glaze out for detail work. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2002
This is a good basic glaze. Thicken a bit to use with squeeze bottles and so it doesn't run off the side of the cookie. Kids have a great time with the squeeze bottles and it is easy for them to use. One review suggested using milk, but I found that the glaze dries with a matte finish instead of the shiny finish when water is used. It's still great either way, just a different effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Perfect texture, high shine and color that adjusts easily with food coloring. Used this to let 4 year olds paint sugar cookies with paintbrushes. They loved it! Stays moist long enough to add sprinkles but dries quickly enough to pack up when it's time to split up the cookies painted and go home. Great taste and texture, not crumbly or crackly. Adheres to cookie just right. I've used lots of glazes, this is THE ONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRUSHSH70

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This was such a simple, delicious icing recipe! I used it to decorate heart shaped cookies for Valentine's Day. I made a ton of different colors, which was a lot of fun. My advice... let them set overnight before trying to stack them. Some appeared to have hardened, but just the top layer had done so and I messed a few up. Everyone at work loved these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by RueBarbe
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I used light cream instead of water. This was the perfect finish for sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States