Sugar Cookie Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Catie's Confections
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I made this and decorated cookies by using. Pastry brush. It might need a little more sugar if you used bag. Dried hard so I could package them. I used vanilla also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This recipe tasted way too much like confectioner's sugar and was very runny. It works best as a glaze to be spread all over something--it doesn't hold shapes. Well, I guess I should have gotten that from the fact that it is called a "glaze" and not "icing" or something. Anyways, I played around with the proportions and added a little cornstarch for thickness. I also added orange extract, vanilla, and orange juice and it turned out well, but I wouldn't really consider what I ended up with to be this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I still prefer butter icing as my base. If I use lots of icing sugar it hardens up. Then I use royal type icings for the details.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Wow this is the PERFECT recipe for glazed cookie bouquets! My husband requested them again the very next day. I'm definitely keeping this:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Wonderful to work with and super easy to make. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I mix up a huge batch then separate for different paste food coloring. I also use the food color markers and this holds up well if I let it dry overnight - it may be ready sooner, but I always wait at least 10 hours. It packs and ships well too. The only time I have had difficulty it when I've overdone the water or corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OlliesMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kewlness41
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
It was easy to make. However I had issues trying to pipe it neatly onto the cookies. I ended up just dunking the whole cookie in the glaze. The other issue i had was that the cookies were stuck to the cooling rack in the morning so a lot of them broke as i was trying to get them off. They tased pretty good though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I did not have much luck with this glaze.......it was really thin and runny. I followed recipe exactly....maybe more powdered sugar????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Go slow adding wet indredients so you can check for the consistency you want. I used in decorator tubes/tips with asst'd decorations. My son enjoyed helping when he saw what I was doing. Fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I glazed my leaf-shaped sugar cookies in a tri-color look following the directions suggested by Larkspur. I made up a batch and a half of the glaze, divided it into three portions, gave each one a color, and then put them on a plate side by side. I dipped each cookie into the colors, kind of mooshing them around a little to get the colors to run together. It worked perfectly! To get the veins, I then added all the colors together, added brown coloring to that, and used a toothpick to work that down the center and to the sides of the leaves. I was very happy with my results. BTW, I did have to add a little more corn syrup and water as I went along--just little dabs--to keep the right consistency of the glaze. It's pretty easy to get whatever consistency you need for your project! Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States