Sugar Cookie Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Yum..Yum!! This is great...I usually make a confecitoners sugar and milk frosting for my sugar cookies but I was looking for something shiny and new this time and the corn syrup does the trick. I do not like a thin frosting/glazes so the only change I made was to add 1 1/2 cups confectioners sugar (instead of just one) to make it thicker..if it is to thick you just add a sprinkle of water and..perfecto! Threw the frosting in a baggie, cut off the tip and swirled it on...I ended up with a perfectly thick, shiny and very easily spreadable frosting...will always use this recipe from now on!! oh yeah I used a food coloring paste for a brighter color, and corn syrup with vanilla in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeyBear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This glaze worked fairly well. It took a bit longer than I had hoped for it to harden, but ended up nice. I had to do 2 coats for it to really add the color though. I used the new gel style food coloring and I don't like it as well as traditional coloring, but there was none to be found. Make more than you expect though, it seems to have run out more quickly than anticipated, based upon the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Great for decorating, not so great for eating, WAY too sweet, kids like it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Excellent! I did add 1 tsp clear vanilla. Be sure to add the water gradually until you reach the desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Not what I was looking for. It really needs some flavor added to it otherwise it doesn't taste very good. When I followed the recipe, I found it too runny. I liked how it hardend up though. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heflin, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Easy, and exactly what I was looking for... I used Orange extract to compliment my "Big soft Ginger cookies" and thinned it with cream and water mixture a little over 2 tablespoons total :D Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by baker2be
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Works really well. Needs more drying time, overnight if possible. Definitely use 4 tsp of milk, I could not even mix it with 2 tsp for 1 cup of sugar. I used it to cover rice crispy treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I love how easy this recipe is to make and apply to sugar cookies. It works great to dip cookies in and let it roll off. I especially love how it dries to a very shiny hard finish. Tastes good and can be stacked with other cookies, without the worry of the icing getting smudged. I use this recipe for every holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TAMAREE
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
You need to put a lot on to get a smooth coat, but I don't really like the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMAREE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This glaze makes sugar cookies so pretty, and I used someone elses suggestion of adding flavor by using different extracts, it was a great idea. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States