Sugar Cookie Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
ok so everyone raves but me, it's to runny, slides right off the cookie, i added more and more and more powdered sugar still didn't help, they have been drying for several hours. i recolored them 3 times they still looked washed out. going back to the old fashion way much less work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbie fox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Ultra thin...and not drying all that quickly. Good sugar taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Sickeningly sweet, almost tooth ache inducing. Wow, I could barely finish a cookie. But, I took them to a pre-school party and the kids really liked them. Though, I'd not want them to have too many, this could cause cavities! The only change I made was to add milk instead of water. They did dry shiny and hard, and dried quickly. They stood up well to color. But, the taste is just not going to work for anyone without a serious sweet tooth. Two stars only because the kids liked them so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
So easy to make- smooth and beautiful in a jiff! I used this in different colors on my Christmas cookies and it was lovely! I did use milk- still came out shiny and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I used milk instead of the syrup (which did turn it white) and it came out wonderfully! It's a little thin, but easy to thicken and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tayls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
EXACTLY the way i remember my mom's tasting! I paired it with "The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies" from this site, and as I said in my review of that recipe: My kids seriously cried when I cut them off from the cookie jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lebrun family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Good glaze, but took a long time to dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Yum..Yum!! This is great...I usually make a confecitoners sugar and milk frosting for my sugar cookies but I was looking for something shiny and new this time and the corn syrup does the trick. I do not like a thin frosting/glazes so the only change I made was to add 1 1/2 cups confectioners sugar (instead of just one) to make it thicker..if it is to thick you just add a sprinkle of water and..perfecto! Threw the frosting in a baggie, cut off the tip and swirled it on...I ended up with a perfectly thick, shiny and very easily spreadable frosting...will always use this recipe from now on!! oh yeah I used a food coloring paste for a brighter color, and corn syrup with vanilla in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeyBear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This glaze worked fairly well. It took a bit longer than I had hoped for it to harden, but ended up nice. I had to do 2 coats for it to really add the color though. I used the new gel style food coloring and I don't like it as well as traditional coloring, but there was none to be found. Make more than you expect though, it seems to have run out more quickly than anticipated, based upon the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Great for decorating, not so great for eating, WAY too sweet, kids like it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States