Sugar Cookie Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I made this with the 'Best Rolled Sugar Cookies' recipe. Found that 2 T of water made the glaze too runny - it soaked into my cookies. So I made a 2nd batch and only used 1 T of water. It was still liquid enough to dip and instead of soaking in, the glaze sat really nicely on top of the cookie and I had enough time to throw some holiday jimmies on them. I did use water because I wanted a shiny look. I also swirled the food coloring in to give the cookies a marbled look - very cool! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Good for decorating cookies. It goes on very easily, is dyed easily, and dries to a nice, shiny finish. Next time, I'll add a flavoring so it's not just a straight sugar shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNHARJE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Great glaze! For more flavor, I used 1 cup powered sugar, 2 TBS egg nog, 1.5 TBS water, and 1 TBS of corn syrup. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
looks good tastes bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lexeo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
nice glaze, easy to alter to your desired consistency. I always add a pinch of salt to this type of frosting to cut down on the incredible sweetness a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Tasted great, looked pretty after it dried; however, the next day it was kind of splotchy looking, with white patches on the surface. Wonder what I did wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECIPEFAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
very easy to make! Dried quickly so I could put them into little plastic baggies with no smear. Love it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I have been using "sugar cookie icing" recipe on this site, and liked it just fine, but decided to try this one out of curiosity. Taste the same...only difference I noticed is this glaze sets up faster and is a little thicker (not so runny like). I think I will continue to use this recipe due to it setting faster. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolatekisses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
The best sugar cookie glaze I have every used. I added half a capful of vanilla extract to give it a little flavor and a teaspoon of extra confectioners sugar to thicken it a little bit more. This works very well with both "spooning" the glaze on to fully cover the cookies or doing a light drizzle also. I get rave reviews whenever I use this glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Very disappointed in this glaze. Made this for cookie swap and had to re-make a whole new batch. The only good thing about it is that it is very pretty to look at - but what good is that if nobody will eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States