Sugar Cookie Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Swati
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Awesome glaze. Love the shiny, professional look it gave my less-than-perfect looking cookies. I subbed lemon juice for half of the water, and used waaaay less food coloring, as they were Easter cookies and my yellow was intense at just 5 drops. Like many others, I also used corn syrup that was already vanilla-flavored. They did take a long time to dry completely (several hours) but I also am in a high-humidity climate so that may have affected drying time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I read all the hints and added zest and a tsp of juice to the recipe and frosted then piped over the cookie. It came out so great. I will use this again on more cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by Jaay
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
A good & easy glaze. Perfect for when I want to make sugar cookies, but don't want all the time and effort that goes with royal icing. Doesn't make a huge batch, and the glaze is thin, so I recommend spooning over the cookies or dipping them in the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This recipe is very easy to work with. It sets up quickly, so if your adding other toppings, work with a few at a time for best outcome.. I will definately use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This icing is yummy! Easy to make and ice with. I used a ziplock bag, cut the corner off, outlined the cookie and then filled it in. Worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This glaze was a little thinner than I wanted for my cookies, but that was easily remedied with the addition of more sugar. I would also add some kind of flavoring next time, just so the taste isn't just 'sweet'. Hardens beautifully for perfectly stackable cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Very nice glaze as it is written. Used colored gels and liquid colors very effectively. Just adjust water to consistency you want. Hardened up nicely after a while. I would make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Yummy, but took forever to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom24t

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I like to use white grape juice instead of water or milk, it definitely gives you that little bit of flavor you are looking for. It doesn't matte the finish like milk. Experiment with other juices and see what you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reeses18

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amyhughes7380
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This glaze is perfection! I use it every year along with the Butter Cookies II recipe on this site and they always are gobbled up quickly. The only things I will caution bakers about is that you definitely need to start with the wet ingredients first: Syrup, Water and Flavoring (if using). Then slowly add in the Confectioner's Sugar a few tablespoons at a time until you get the desired consistency. The instructions are a little misleading and can be a disaster if you try to simply combine all together at once! I like many others add a hint of Almond Extract to my glaze but it works with really any flavoring. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States