Sugar Cookie Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I went looking for a recipe that could mimic poptart icing enough to please my picky three year old. He loves pop tarts but due to religious restrictions we cannot eat the frosted ones due to pork gelatin. The unfrosted ones look quite unappetizing to a toddler, so i bought them and told them we'd make them "blue icing!" And so today we did. I didn't see anywhere whether this could be stored or not, so I made 1/4 of the written recipe. It made too much for two poptarts but the bit that's left isn't so much that I'll lose sleep at night over throwing it away. I didn't even taste it myself, but he gobbled down two poptarts with great enthusiasm so it definitely served its purpose! Also adds a bit of homemade fun to an otherwise grab and go food. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Swati
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Awesome glaze. Love the shiny, professional look it gave my less-than-perfect looking cookies. I subbed lemon juice for half of the water, and used waaaay less food coloring, as they were Easter cookies and my yellow was intense at just 5 drops. Like many others, I also used corn syrup that was already vanilla-flavored. They did take a long time to dry completely (several hours) but I also am in a high-humidity climate so that may have affected drying time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I read all the hints and added zest and a tsp of juice to the recipe and frosted then piped over the cookie. It came out so great. I will use this again on more cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by Jaay
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
A good & easy glaze. Perfect for when I want to make sugar cookies, but don't want all the time and effort that goes with royal icing. Doesn't make a huge batch, and the glaze is thin, so I recommend spooning over the cookies or dipping them in the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This recipe is very easy to work with. It sets up quickly, so if your adding other toppings, work with a few at a time for best outcome.. I will definately use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This icing is yummy! Easy to make and ice with. I used a ziplock bag, cut the corner off, outlined the cookie and then filled it in. Worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This glaze was a little thinner than I wanted for my cookies, but that was easily remedied with the addition of more sugar. I would also add some kind of flavoring next time, just so the taste isn't just 'sweet'. Hardens beautifully for perfectly stackable cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Very nice glaze as it is written. Used colored gels and liquid colors very effectively. Just adjust water to consistency you want. Hardened up nicely after a while. I would make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Yummy, but took forever to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom24t

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I like to use white grape juice instead of water or milk, it definitely gives you that little bit of flavor you are looking for. It doesn't matte the finish like milk. Experiment with other juices and see what you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reeses18

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States