Sugar Cookie Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
very easy to make! Dried quickly so I could put them into little plastic baggies with no smear. Love it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I have been using "sugar cookie icing" recipe on this site, and liked it just fine, but decided to try this one out of curiosity. Taste the same...only difference I noticed is this glaze sets up faster and is a little thicker (not so runny like). I think I will continue to use this recipe due to it setting faster. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolatekisses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
The best sugar cookie glaze I have every used. I added half a capful of vanilla extract to give it a little flavor and a teaspoon of extra confectioners sugar to thicken it a little bit more. This works very well with both "spooning" the glaze on to fully cover the cookies or doing a light drizzle also. I get rave reviews whenever I use this glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Very disappointed in this glaze. Made this for cookie swap and had to re-make a whole new batch. The only good thing about it is that it is very pretty to look at - but what good is that if nobody will eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Kids love it. Pretty glaze, very shiny. Added milk instead of water & a few drops of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I really liked the final consistency of this icing. I was using royal icing for gingerbread, and it was just too crunchy when it set up. This icing sets firm so you can stack your cookies, but won't break your teeth when bite into them. :) The onlly thing keeping this at 4 stars was that the icing dried slightly cloudy. Maybe I needed to use more color. Overal, very happy with this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I have been using this recipe for years for all of the sugar cookies that I send out to family. The cookie recipe is a family heirloom and the frosting/glaze is what makes it for us. Since I live in high altitude area (over 5,000 feet) I use just a little extra water since our dry goods, such as the confectioner's sugar, are dryer as we usually have very low humidity. I also double the extracts for the cookies, due to the high altitude. If anyone who lives at high altitude and would like to see my cookie recipe that is adapted for this, you can go to my recipe box and see the recipe. This recipe makes about 80 cookies so you can halve it if you would like. The nice thing about this recipe is now when I cut out a Christmas tree or star, the shape that comes out of the oven LOOKS like a tree or star!! http://allrecipes.com/customrecipe/63452050/ch-sugar-cookies-high-altitude---i/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This glaze was ok. I divided it up to make it different colors and my big complaint was that it was very thin and runny so I could see through the first coat I did so I had to put another one on. I also forgot to add any extract so it did taste very much like solid powdered sugar. Not sure I would use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I just tasted like powdered sugar, even with a little vanilla. I just can't seem to find a good glaze or sugar cookie recipe :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I make this basic recipe all the time, but I use less corn syrup and water. Start with less and add until it is the consistency you want. I would beware of those who recommend using milk instead of water. If you use milk, you will need to refrigerate the cookies or eat them immediately. Not a good idea to leave them out and let the milk go sour. JMHO. For those who complain of the glaze not having enough color, I suggest you use the gel type food coloring rather than the liquid. The gel is very concentrated and you will get very intense colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States