Sugar Cookie Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I used this glaze over a cake - my son's school project. He wanted the color & design of the cake to be seen & not hidden under frosting. It worked like a dream! I did increase the corn syrup (to 4 Tbs)so that it would be less opaque, & reduced the water to 1 Tbs. Added a pinch of salt & a splash of vanilla... just what I needed! Now I'm in the mood for sugar cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I use this every year for Christmas cookies... the glaze is beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I've been using this recipe for several years now and it has to be one of my all time favorites for kids to decorate with. It is just so wonderfully spreadable, super super easy and i love the sheen on the cookies. I've even piped images on a cake and used this to fill in the colors....this really is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This glaze it what makes a sugar cookie taste good!! It is so much better than a thick sugary mess. And you can still use sprinkles and other things to make the cookie that much more special. I love love love this glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I like this glaze. Very pretty! I sprinkled just a tiny bit of colored sugar into it while wet. They turned out quite pretty. My second time making this taught me that I made a mistake in this the first time...one I had to figure out how to repeat! I used 2 Tblsp light corn syrup and only 1 Tblsp rather than the other way around. The original way made it too runny for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Perfect sugar cookie glaze. We piped along the edges all of our cut outs in royal icing. Then filled in the middle with glaze, and sprinkled colored sugar on top of that. It was perfect and yummy. Santa said they were great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Beautiful glaze. Perfectly complemented the Best Rolled Sugar Cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelmo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I made this with the 'Best Rolled Sugar Cookies' recipe. Found that 2 T of water made the glaze too runny - it soaked into my cookies. So I made a 2nd batch and only used 1 T of water. It was still liquid enough to dip and instead of soaking in, the glaze sat really nicely on top of the cookie and I had enough time to throw some holiday jimmies on them. I did use water because I wanted a shiny look. I also swirled the food coloring in to give the cookies a marbled look - very cool! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Good for decorating cookies. It goes on very easily, is dyed easily, and dries to a nice, shiny finish. Next time, I'll add a flavoring so it's not just a straight sugar shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNHARJE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Great glaze! For more flavor, I used 1 cup powered sugar, 2 TBS egg nog, 1.5 TBS water, and 1 TBS of corn syrup. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States