Sugar Cookie Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Just what I was looking for. This appears to be exactly the same glaze used on the expensive bakery cookies. I agree it could use a bit of flavor, but it is personal preference. Definitely double the recipe to cover a single recipe of sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwinsville, New York, USA
Living In: Tully, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I live overseas soI can't find corn syrup so I substituted the corn syrup for 3 tbsp powdered sugar and 1/4 tsp water. Also I added 1/4 tsp almond extract. They were pretty good but I think the corn syrup is what causes the hard shell so they weren't as hard as I like. Pretty dang close though. Next time I'm going to try adding an extra cup of powdered sugar so they're easier to spread. They'er a bit difficult in that department but very good overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSTAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
It was my first time baking sugar cookies and decorating them. I followed the exact instructions for this glaze with addition of some vanilla and my cookies turned out beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I used this glaze over a cake - my son's school project. He wanted the color & design of the cake to be seen & not hidden under frosting. It worked like a dream! I did increase the corn syrup (to 4 Tbs)so that it would be less opaque, & reduced the water to 1 Tbs. Added a pinch of salt & a splash of vanilla... just what I needed! Now I'm in the mood for sugar cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I use this every year for Christmas cookies... the glaze is beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I've been using this recipe for several years now and it has to be one of my all time favorites for kids to decorate with. It is just so wonderfully spreadable, super super easy and i love the sheen on the cookies. I've even piped images on a cake and used this to fill in the colors....this really is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This glaze it what makes a sugar cookie taste good!! It is so much better than a thick sugary mess. And you can still use sprinkles and other things to make the cookie that much more special. I love love love this glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I like this glaze. Very pretty! I sprinkled just a tiny bit of colored sugar into it while wet. They turned out quite pretty. My second time making this taught me that I made a mistake in this the first time...one I had to figure out how to repeat! I used 2 Tblsp light corn syrup and only 1 Tblsp rather than the other way around. The original way made it too runny for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Perfect sugar cookie glaze. We piped along the edges all of our cut outs in royal icing. Then filled in the middle with glaze, and sprinkled colored sugar on top of that. It was perfect and yummy. Santa said they were great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Beautiful glaze. Perfectly complemented the Best Rolled Sugar Cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelmo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States