Sugar Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I had tried another recipe for sugar cookie frosting prior to this one, and it came out much too sweet. This one was perfect! Easy to make (I halved the recipe because I had a small batch of cookies left), soft enough to spread easily, and stiffened up without getting hard. I will DEFINITELY be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, New York, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Oh lord this was awful. My friend and I googled "Easy Sugar Cookie Frosting" and clicked on this thinking it was simple... and edible. Oh boy were we wrong. First of all, we didn't have "shortening" so we subsituted it for butter. After reading some reviews, I have come to the conclusion that this was a bad idea. Second, the recipe wasn't very clear on how to mix the ingredients. Should you decide to make this, use shortening, MUCH less sugar than called for (let's be realistic, 4 cups of sugar is too much for anyone), and do not beat too much. Our frosting seemed to have a bunch of clumps of sugar, so we mixed it with an electric mixer on "Whip." This made it into a weird liquidy consistensy. So, long story short: don't make this recipe and pick something alot more edible. Unless of course you like frosting that tastes like overly buttery, sickly sweet toothpaste. Lastly, we named our frosting "The Nuclear Hazard," which should give you an idea of the quality...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clover
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I gave this frosting a try because my usual butter frosting makes cookies stick together. I made 6 dozen a few days ago and the cookies still look nice and no sticking. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Very thick and difficult to apply. Not what I was looking for, unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
used butter instead of shortening; everything else was the same and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is the most amazing icing recipe i have tried!!! i sub the vanilla to peppermint extract for christmas cookies and they went like hot cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very pretty, easy to pipe or flow and tastes better than royal frosting. Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Simple enough. I feared that the icing would not set after reading a few of the reviews but it did, took a little longer than other recipes in the past BUT I was making over 54 cookies for an exchange and it gave me time to decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulyJMoose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
good but too sweet better for a cupcake but not for sugar cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This was the best yet!! Creamy, thick, and hardens really nice. I will be making this sugar cookie frosting for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,039) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States