Sugar Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I could just eat a bowl of this and skip the cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This is the perfect frosting for sugar cookies! I doubled to frost 7 dozen 2" round sugar cookies for our Easter children's lesson at church and there is a lot left-over. The frosting took several hours to set up for me to be able to stack them, but it was a little humid where I live. The complaint that this recipe is 'too sweet' is a silly complaint since it is FROSTING with 4 cups of powdered sugar. The ingredients tell you up front that it will be sweet! I loved it though, definitely a keeper for my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Wow, this recipe is so simple yet so delicious! I actually used this on brownie cupcakes- yummy! I would really suggest using it. Although it's not as fluffy as regular cupcake frosting, it's flavor is just as strong if not stronger. I would recommend this to all who like sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
tried this with easy no/roll sugar cookies, was good family loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Great recipe. I added another tsp of vanilla for my taste. Also, I didn't want the trans fat from the shortening so I substituted a stick of unsalted butter. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I never wanto to buy frosting. It is easy to make, use for decorating what you bake. This is a simple recipe that will work everytime. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Used butter in place of shortning. Husband LOVED it. If you wait a day or so the frosting will harden and make it possible to give a plate of frosted cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I didn't like it because using shortening leaves a greasy and thick taste. I didn't use all the confectioners sugar it asked for either rather I tasted it as I went because I don't like overly sweet frosting. I needed a quick white frosting and chose this because of the high ratings. I will not use this recipe again and I will avoid using recipes calling for shortening in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
My go-to icing recipe for sugar cookies. It's easy to decorate with, sets up stiff enough to stack and actually tastes pretty good, too. I like using this a lot more than royal icing. I will never use royal icing again. This is so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,039) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States