Sugar Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Have made several times, as written and I have used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup shortening for a better tasting frosting that is thick enough for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Way too sweet and too thin to spread onto cookies. I subbed butter for the shortening and all you can taste is way too sweet butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
It was pretty good not a fluffy as I expected but pretty good I halfed the recipe and made it 24 servings instead of 48 , And since I didn't have shortening I used butter maybe that was why it wasn't as fluffy Also a little too sweet but i liked it because i made pretty plain cookies , Yum:D BTW 4 1/2 stars :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This is a great icing! Extremely easy to make and mixes very well...I used 1/2 tsp vanilla extra instead of 1/4..and I wouldn't suggest doing that again. lol Makes it a tad too sweet for my taste but if your receiving party has a big sweet tooth I would def suggest it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I just made this and I would only put in half of sugar that it says it needs. I had to add salt to tone down the sweetness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This recipe didn't have the vanilla/buttery flavour I was looking for. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I used hardly any on one cookie to test it and the next morning it was mushy and dried almost clear. I followed it exactly, no question. I decided to start over because it was the right consistency before all that milk. And this time I only added 1/2 tsp of vanilla and 1.5 tablespoons of milk so it would be thicker and THEN it was perfect. Good frosting, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Just the consistency I'm used to - spreadable but not runny. I'll use this recipe next time I need basic sugar cookie frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
super good especially if you do the shortening and add a little bit of sugar and milk at a time whips really nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,040) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States