Sugar Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Had amazing flavor! Only issue I had was when I added the food coloring, it gave the frosting a grainy look but I do not know what I did wrong! Still was amazing with my sugar cookies though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I'm on a low carb diet so cut the batch size in half. However I still wanted to curb my sweet tooth cravings so i added chocolate chips and skor chips on top. Delicious! Also try substituting the shortening for butter. Cookie Monster Out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
So good!! Mine didn't quite come out stiff though but it still worked. I used with butter however because the first time i used the shortening it tasted really strong and then realized it was best by 2008 :\ eww. any who, butter turned out just great. you'll have to mix in the milk first before it will be come creamy though or else it probably will just stay powdery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Standard frosting. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I don't like sugar cookies, and I always find the icings too watery and sweet. But this icing is wonderful... I have to say, I dropped the sugar to 3 cups, and I used Crisco butter sticks instead of plain shortening (and I'd agree with the user who said to cream the shortening first, then slowly add the sugar). But the result is wonderful - sort of like cake icing, and not as sickly sweet as I'm accustomed to! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I attempted this recipe while we were snowed in and found out I didn't have shortening. I used coconut oil instead, and while the end result was thinner and had a faint coconut taste to it, it was a huge hit. I have since stocked up on shortening and will continue to make this recipe....the proper way. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was perfect. My grand daughter decorated the cookies and loved doing it. I had a friend said to try butter instead of shorting. Maybe I will try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakotacabn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Made this to put on top of refrigerated sugar cookie dough pucks. Halved the recipie, then divided into small bowls to add food coloring. Wasn't sure if the food coloring would dilute, so put in enough powdered sugar to "look right". This recipie is great, husband and kids all loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I'm rating this as five stars simply because it delivered what it promised: a great sugar cookie frosting that's soft when it spreads and hardens nicely. The only thing that I wasn't that excited about was that it didn't have that delicious buttery taste that I've come to associate with sugar cookie frosting. But, if you're cool with that, there is not reason why this frosting isn't perfect in every way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Mine dried just fine, A little too dry really. Becomes flakey and looses it's appeal quite quickly, but if serving within a couple of hours you should be happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSuthrnChf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,042) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States